By still waters He gives me repose

By still waters He gives me repose

I love the imagery of God leading me by the water.  I  come back to that theme and imagery repeatedly. Perhaps it is because I grew up in MN—where water abounds. The land of sky blue waters. Perhaps it is because we as humans are what is it 75% water? Perhaps it is because I lived an hour drive from the ocean for many years. I find it so easy to be still and wait for God when I am near the water.

But I reside in the desert. However there are places where I find water. The above photo was taken on the campus of my husband’s college alma mater. We spent many hours walking the campus over the years. When I spend time in the middle of my day speaking with God and listening to Him, He gives me repose.

I have found, once again, that spending time (in person, on the phone, or electronically) with a supportive friend, I am also given repose. Albeit a different kind of repose, but still oh so restorative. I get so wrapped up some days in my ‘things to do list’ that I neglect my time for restoration. But I can only push that just so long. Then God reminds me. Oh He reminds me in my heart in ways that I cannot overlook or miss. Today He reminded me. Time to sit down, put my feet up on the couch, and pray. Blessings to you.

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to By still waters He gives me repose

  1. Wow. You SO could repost this for this week’s photo challeng: peaceful! I think I shall re-read this before bed tonight and sleep the better because of it! 🙂 Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Peaceful | Believe Anyway

  3. diggingher says:

    Yesterday I felt compelled to go sit for a bit in the chapel at the hospital. I closed my eyes and said, Hi Lord. I heard Him whisper Psalm 62. I left my chair to get the bible off the ledge to read.

    Find rest, O my soul, in God alone:
    my hope comes from him.
    He alone is my rock and my salvation:
    he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.
    My salvation and my honor depend on God;
    he is my mighty rock and, my refuge.

    I was so touched while I read this. I simply took out a few minutes to sit with Him and say Hi and he met me. Forever leading us…

    Thanks for the picture.

Leave a Reply

