Singing my song

Wanda Conway stated “Within us there is a unique heart-song placed there by God.Our vocation is to respond to this gift by singing the song and leaving a voice-print for others to hear. We might not be the first violin or the loudest trumpet, but without that one note from a simple triangle a symphony is incomplete”.

I have been spending a lot of time lately reaching out. I have always been a ‘reach out to others’ kind of person. Perhaps that is my heart-song. You see, when I was just a little girl, I didn’t have siblings. But I had doting aunts, uncles, and grandparents. Before all that long, many cousins came along. On my mom’s side of the family, I had 4 cousins before my brothers arrived. On my dad’s side, I had 6 cousins before my brothers were born. As these cousins came along, I was thrilled. I shared the ‘stuff’ and the time and attention. I was a rejoicing girl. So when my brothers came along I was all the more thrilled.

It has always been important to me to consider the feelings of others. It has always been important to treat each person with love….and in these past few weeks I have been treated with love, and gratitude. It has been amazing. I am seeing the loving kindness in people poured out on other people. I am then seeing these people express their gratitude back to the initiators of this love. It is just lovely.

It ha become a gorgeous symphony of praise. Each person I have encountered in the last year through blogging is making the world better in their own way. Thus, through my blog I have renewed my heart-song . On a good day I try to picture myself walking in rhythm with God and being a little piece of the symphony. On days that are too hectic or when life is getting to me, i lose my way a bit. But before long, up pops a comment or a post from some loving person. I steady my shaking shoulders and say, “oh yes. i shall begin again. i shall sing my heart-song. I will run my race”.

Wanda Conway also says “our vocation is simply to receive from God the gift of who we are and return that gift to God through an authentic response”. I pray that today, tomorrow, and however many more tomorrows I am given that I run the race God wants me to run. I pray that I will listen to Him.

Heart-songs have great beauty…as long as they are song in harmony or unison with God.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Singing my song

  1. arbohl says:

    This is beautiful. I, too have always thought it was incredibly important to treat others with love and respect. That’s what I’m hoping will happen with my students. And you are so right about what a joy and light this blogging community can be. How awesome is it that people from all over the world can come together as a community?

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I am pretty sure that if you model that respect your students will absorb the lesson and be respectful. The blogging community is SO supportive and loving. I have been amazed that I have been accepted into the fold, so to speak, and so quickly. I love it.

  2. I agree that God places a heart-song in each of us. He grants us a gift to use, not for our own glory but for His and to bring those who don’t know Him into His fold. Thanks for sharing your heart-song with all of us!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      When I began to pray, I began to write; when I began to write, I began to blog. When I began to blog, I began to find countless examples of His love. My heart has been lightened by the kindnesses extended towards me in the blogging community. I am so glad that we found each other’s blogs. I am so glad that we will begin to discover the blogs that each of us follow and communicate with. Such interconnectedness..

  3. TBM says:

    Beautiful words.

  4. Terri O.A. says:

    I enjoyed that so much! I also wanted to say the candle light award that you started is a delight! What a generous idea! Thank you!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I am so glad you enjoyed it Terri. I am thrilled by the reception my creation of The Candle Award is receiving. It is spreading beyond my wildest dreams. It all began when I received a different award recently. When I went to pass it on, one of my fellow bloggers turned it down. She said that she didn’t want to leave anyone out in the passing it on. That made me stop and think and pray. The rest is in the post I put up when I created the award https://believeanyway.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/creation-of-new-blog-award-the-candle-lighter-award/. I am thrilled to keep learning about all the fabulous, wonderful, vibrant, loving, positive, faith filled, optimistic blogs there are. we are all lighting up the world!!!! Thank you for your kindness.

  5. Susan Michaels says:

    Wonderful words and inspiration all over the place on your blog, Kate. A joy to connect with you via Jeanne Webster at womenswindow.wordpress.com, I thank you so much for your very kind comment and additional info on the Candle Lighter Award that you left at my blog today. Keep sharing the joy! God bless! 🙂 I will add you to my blogroll and follow your blog with interest!

  6. I think we get the song merely by being available to receive it through the Holy Spirit. I guess we are pulled from God by listening too much to songs outside of us.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Oh Carl–that is SO wise and so true. We are pulled away that way. When we remain available to receive God’s graces and remain open—we are filled to overflowing with His graces and goodness.

  7. munchow says:

    Thanks for sharing your symphony. You have a good heart-song.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Some days I feel as though I MUST share my symphony….other days I am ever so tempted to hide it in a soundproof room….I get shy then bold then shy then….you know how it goes :-). Thank you so very much for the affirmation. I appreciate it.

  8. Heart-song…I love the sound of it. Thanks for sharing this beautiful way of looking at each other and the world.

  9. Wow, Kate!
    I’ve been out a bit, and look at you! This is an amazing response! Way to go!
    Have you ever read Calvin Miller’s THE SINGER? It’s the first book in a trilogy including THE SONG and THE FINALE. I like the first one best, though. Very poetic prose and hauntingly beautiful. It’s an old book, but probably available somewhere, as it was totally popular once.

  10. Cara says:

    Sounds like you are receiving what you are putting forth into the world. What a beautiful thing, Kate.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      It is a beautiful thing. And I joyously proclaim that I feel like I am receiving 100 times what I am putting forth into the world. God is good….ALL the time :-). Thank you for the joy and light that you spread.

  11. Connie Wayne says:

    I’ve never heard the quote you mentioned, but it is lovely. A song from my childhood says, “Anyone can sing when the sun is shining bright, but you need a song in your heart at night.” From the two articles I have just read, it seems that you are able to sing in the day and at night. So “just sing, sing out loud, sing out strong. Don’t worry if it’s not good enough for anyone else to hear. Just sing, sing a song.” Your song, your words are definitely good enough for everyone to hear, so just keep singing and writing, Kate. Blessings, Connie

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks Connie! We are Easter people; and Alleluia is our song. i try to write what is on my mind and in my heart. I appreciate your kind words. I will continue to write because it feels so right. I am grateful to my dear friend Dana that recommended that I begin a blog. She says ‘you’re a writer. you need to write :-“. Love that friend. God is good ALL the time. Blessings to you, too Connie.

Leave a Reply

