Gosh~Keep Pressing On…Believe Anyway

Believe Anyway….Just Because

originally Posted on August 18, 2011
`updated today

Are you having a tough week, and it feels like God is busy with something else?…believe anyway. Are your family members being inconsiderate or getting on your nerves?….believe in them anyway. Is your bankroll shot, upside down in your house, overwhelmed by debt and it feels like there is now way out?….Believe Anyway….it costs nothing….Are you feeling stressed, overwhelmed, overworked, underappreciated, worn down?….and you don’t believe it can EVER change or improve? Believe Anyway.

Are you struggling with a serious health issue (mental or physical)? God, friends, doctors, and loved ones can come to your aid. Even if what you are dealing with cannot be fixed in this lifetime, other things can get better…so go ahead and believe anyway. Are you lonely and you don’t believe it will change?…you know the mantra—believe anyway. Go ahead. Be ridiculously stubborn. Believe Anyway. Snap off the depressing news on the TV/radio or wherever….it can infect your psyche, soul, heart, and optimism. No, I am not saying bury your head in the sand.

But I am beginning to think that Pollyanna had it right. I think it would do me [and everyone else] a world of good to play the glad game. I am hopeful that things will get better. I refuse to believe our ship is going to go down. There are a lot of bright, creative, loving, joyful, giving people in this world.

___

I resolved a year ago to kick my cranky to the curb for the day. I had been absorbed in worry and it turned my inner Tigger into Eeyore…Since then, as often as possible I ask God to keep me pressing on, keep me optimistic, and to keep Eeyore at the curb.

Today I say—no matter how life is, we are called to Believe Anyway…Just Because….I am going to build my courage muscle and continue believe that optimism is as always, the better path.

I wish you love, joy, optimism….because I am a perennial optimist.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Positive Thinking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Gosh~Keep Pressing On…Believe Anyway

  1. “Believe Anyway…Just Because”…… is the same as ……… Always be ready to make your defence to anyone who demands from you an account of the hope that is in you. (1 Peter 3:15). Hope, trust, believe! Thanks Kate.

  2. Susan Michaels says:

    Hey, how’d you know???! About all the glitches at work and home, etc…??? LOL.

    A huge ‘AMEN’ to this wonderful faith-in-action approach, Kate. FAITH IS the substance of things hoped for! As believers and followers in the Living God whose New Creation power is ever at work and whose promises are ALL ‘yes’ and ‘Amen’, we are called NOT to look at the bigness of our problems or challenges but to the GREATNESS of our God! Luv this word! Bigtime blessings! 🙂

  3. Caddo Veil says:

    Oh Kate–thank you for this reminder about the Glad Game!!! Lately I’ve been struggling with some stubborn crankiness (blaming it on the heat, but–I DO have a choice about my attitude)–so today I am newly resolved to play the Glad Game again. You’re the Best, Sis–God bless your eternal optimism that cheers all of us ONWARD!! love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Gosh Caddo–YOU are the one that encourages beyond measure. Your words, your poetry….such beauty. Love you—and the heat WILL break, right? LOL! have a GLAD evening 🙂

      • Caddo Veil says:

        You know all those verses about God testing us with fire, right? Oh mercy–the odd thing, is that I think a little of that actually was goin’ on during the HOT days/night. But I don’t want to spoil tomorrow’s post for you…so come on over and celebrate a special “holiday”, okay? Shoot–it just occurred to me, I haven’t cooked/baked for it–better get hoppin’!!! Love you–sis Caddo

        • Kate Kresse says:

          since you are baking, oh DOOOO make me a plate of brownies!! would love a whole mess of chocolate tonight—consequence free 😉

          • Caddo Veil says:

            I don’t know if you like cheesecake, but McCormick’s sends me recipes every month–and they had an EASY no-bake cheesecake. If you want it, I can email it to you–no sweatsky.

            By the by–I hesitate to put this on the www, but I have a confession: I managed to gain 10 lbs in the first year of my blog. I know–horrible. So, I’m praying I can at least get back to walking–starting in Sept when the temp cools down. Could you begin diligent prayers for me now?? Thanks!

            • Kate Kresse says:

              CHEESECAKE YUMMM…I Will begin praying now! Can you walk laps in your house–like kitchen to living room and back over and over and over? or even march in place while listening to music? i started with my indoor laps….because it is hot out and i didn’t want anyone to see how out of shape i was…pride, such pride… You can DO it!!!! You really really really really can!!

              • Caddo Veil says:

                Well, I was really excited when you first mentioned doing indoor laps, in your house–but I suspect your place is considerably larger than my little rabbit nest. It would probably take a million trips back and forth down my very short hallway to amount to anything near the concept of real exercise. The 1.1 mile that I used to do in apprx 16 min was at least “something”–and had the challenge built in to “do it and get home” fast as you can. The downside is that there’s no sidewalk–so traffic can be an issue, not to mention the occasional “weird person”. But I’ve really got to do something–just like you discovered, things have seriously gotten out of hand.

                • Kate Kresse says:

                  i see what you mean. But indoors is still an option—just keep walking your rabbit’s nest for 16 min, or march rapidly in place for that amount of time…scary to walk in traffic with no sidewalk!!is there a mall nearby where you could walk? i often do laps around my coffee table and couch over and over and over. if i get dizzy i switch directions. I could not have stuck with it this long if i had to have any witnesses to my walking, and breathlessness. when we were in our duplex i did march rapidly in place (with an occasional 1 min worth of running in place). As i say, being outside and being witness to how long it was taking me was really discouraging. i’m thinking there is a way. i know what you mean about getting out of hand….I’ve got your back~~ everything will be ok ❤

                • Caddo Veil says:

                  Kate, you are TRULY the BEST–I feel encouraged, especially since you said you did this in a duplex, so you know “space limitations”. Sounds like the point is to “keep moving” for a specified length of Time–I should be able to do that.

                  This is so pathetic, but my motivation re the eating part of the deal, is purely economic. I’m not going to “afford” snacks anymore (eating had become an Olympic event…)–so if I really want to eat, it will at least have to be stuff with some nutritive value, and probably need to be cooked–which will make saying NO easier (can’t write and cook snacks at the same time). I’m gonna make this work–God has helped me accomplish far more daunting challenges!

                  Thanks, thanks and more thanks!

                • Kate Kresse says:

                  you can do this!!! if you don’t like celery sticks, sit down and have a bowl full of greens—fast, no cooking, and the bulk is satisfying and nutritions! Love to you—

                • Caddo Veil says:

                  I hate to tell you, but the food/eating part of this will not be as successful as the walking–I have digestive issues. And a bowl of greens without homemade ranch dressing…depressing. I’ll be doing well to cut back/out the sweets/snacks. Baby steps!

        • Kate Kresse says:

          boy does He test us with fire! and He tests us s’more each day! ;-). Can hardly wait to see what you post tomorrow!!

  4. *APPLAUSE!* *WHISTLES!* *KUDOS!* *BRAVA!* 😀

  5. Gilly Gee says:

    As I’m Pollyannaish to the enth degree I’m with you!

Leave a Reply

