We are the new journalists

I wanted you to know that what you do, what you write, what you share, what you photograph…..MATTERS. Here is a suggestion–look over your own past posts. Go back a year and look at what you posted (or if you have been blogging less than a year look back to your first few posts). I am betting you will see that you, too, are growing, changing, deepening, touching other people’s hearts.

Journalism via the old standard newspapers may be dying. BUT the community of bloggers are a grassroots movement (yeh I’m from the 60s and grassroots movements TOTALLY ROCK).     

Did you think 10 years ago you would be writing a blog and sharing your words, poems, and or photos with people in far-flung places? It is, when you think about it, VERY thrilling.

You can turn on your computer and read blogs about people enduring despite pain and difficulties and finding joy in life, you find amazing, amazing poetry and breathtaking photographs, you find spot-on advice, you find spiritual guidance that is stop-in-your-tracks exactly what you need, you travel with people on their photo-taking expeditions. It expands your world. Before you know it, it has opened the windows in your heart and soul.

It can help you and others. So write on, draw on, photograph on, share it with us ~ and become all you are dreaming of. Our community continues to grow and connect. We are the world ❤

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Writing and Literature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to We are the new journalists

  1. Julie Church says:

    Today’s blog has changed my perspective about my own blog, I never thought of it in those terms before.
    I too am from the 60’s and as much as I may have enjoyed them and it has helped to mold me in who I am today, I don’t want to redo them. I am happy to be in the here and now and yeah, living the 60’s has put a different spin on things that would otherwise would have been different if I had just skimmed over them.
    I like your post, thanks! ~ Julie

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I agree with you about the 60’s! I don’t want to re-do them. I do want my heart to always have a piece of that optimism that is intrinsic with being young. It is so very fascinating though to be able to read so many blogs and see everyone’s perspectives right at our fingertips, isn’t it?

      • Julie Church says:

        I guess that’s how I view the 60’s as well.
        I am not a writer but when I find someone’s blog with the words just flowing and saying exactly how they want it to say, seeing the gift of it, it’s neat. Also the creativity out there is awesome in both crafts and writing; it’s all good!

  2. TBM says:

    Great message! I for one, hope you keep writing!

  3. Susan Michaels says:

    Awesome word, Kate, bless you!

  4. Butch Dean says:

    Excellent! Great perspective for bloggers.

  5. It can be a really fast way to get news, too. If I stay online, that is. 😉

  6. Caddo Veil says:

    Kate, you are a spectacular Life Coach–I can barely see to type, for the tears welling in my eyes. Everything you wrote is so true and wondrous–I feel amazingly, abundantly blessed to be part of this grass roots movement of journalists. Frequently–like almost daily–God speaks to me through someone’s post, “just what I need to hear” to lift me, keep me moving forward, always reaching. And the days when someone comments that what I’ve written has blessed them–wow, I get the blessing multiplied ten-fold at least!! Thank you for all you do here, all you GIVE–God bless you BIG! love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Life Coach—wow! Thanks so much. I guess the changing existence of newspapers in print these days really brought it to mind. God speaks to me through your posts and others. It is just so amazing to see such ample evidence of His voice and touch everywhere isn’t it? We are indeed blessed many times over by each other. You warmed my heart with your loving, loving comment. hugs and love to you sis—

  7. joseyphina says:

    Great piece! Very inspiring! Thanks for sharing this, Kate.

  8. fgassette says:

    A great post with a wonderful message.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  9. Judy says:

    Consider me encouraged by you today! Thanks!

  10. eof737 says:

    Who knew… Ten years ago, I had a blog/website but didn’t know what to do with it so I let it go… Yes we are a growing community and who knows what the future holds. Welcome back! 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Ten years ago I didn’t even know how to send an email! Love to you!

      • eof737 says:

        😆 That’s why I let it go… I didn’t know what to do with it… My cousin, an exec with HP, set it up and raved about the future of online writing. I nodded, rolled my eyes, and went back to whatever I was doing; that’s why Mark Z is a billionaire and I’m still pounding the pavement… 😆 Love to you too! 🙂

  11. dorannrule says:

    As always, you are very inspiring Kate. Ten years ago I didn’t even know what a blog was. And when my son urged me to start one six years ago, I told him I thought it was a dangerous thing to do! Besides that, I said, “I can’t.” Thanks to my son and all the great encouragement out there and inspiration, I have discovered “I can,” and I love every minute of it.

  12. So true! I started blogging just to amuse myself and keep a record of things I found interesting or inspiring. In the 2 years I’ve been blogging, I have come across such great bloggers and expanded my horizons.

  13. Gilly Gee says:

    You’re so right Kate, I never dreamt that I would be part of something this big when I began in May last year!

  14. I have nominated you for the Addictive Blogger Award

  15. cissyblue says:

    Thank you Kate for your inspiring words and encouragement. We are definitely made of good stuff, and proud of it too! I agree that each one of us can find purpose and connection when we blog. And I also agree that we are very blessed indeed to have had this time to do so. Good work, little sister! Cissy in central Texas

  16. gwen07 says:

    Kate, I teach journalism at the community college level and I begin each year with the premise that we are all journalist – and when it comes to how this ‘new’ journaling has and continues to change the world, I reference what is called “backpack journalism.” It has brought about the beginnings of freedom and empowered groups heretofore hidden away from the eyes of the public – witness Arab Spring and other groundswell movements. The speed of information/communication is phenomenal and can and should be harnessed for good. We still need facts – “just the fact m’am” 🙂 It is my job to show students where to go for facts – to question, verify then report. I love this job.

    Thanks for this piece. I will share with my students if you don’t mind. 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Backpack journalism, now isn’t THAT a perfect way to put it! Freedom always finds a way, and truth always ends up coming to to the forefront. Gwen, you and I are of a certain age that we know the beginnings of a groundswell movement. You are so right. It means so much to me that you liked my piece. Not only do I not mind if you share my piece with your students, I am honored. have a great day!!

Leave a Reply

