A Flag Over My Life:

fgassette commented on my blog recently, and said: ” I remember reading this somewhere and thought you may like it; ‘“In London, Buckingham Palace flies the royal standard to show that the sovereign is in residence. Day or night the flag can be seen, and the people know that their queen is not away, but at home. Thus, joy flies as the flag over our lives to show that Christ our King is in residence.” Isn’t that ever so lovely? I mean I can picture Buckingham Palace with the royal standard. Those of a certain age will remember Captain Kangaroo showing a film clip of the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace. This clip always showed the grenadiers marching in formation, while the song ‘they’re changing guards at Buckingham Palace, says Alice’. If you remember the clip, you no doubt remember the song.

So if joy is the flag over our life showing Christ our King is in residence in our hearts, we should always be joyful. He should always be in residence. What does joy look like? It looks like enthusiasm. It looks like the willingness to suspend cynicism. It looks like enthusiastically throwing your arms around life, and saying “I’m all in”. It looks like believing anyway. It looks like shiny, happy, eyes. It also looks like forbearance even during those dark, despondent times. It doesn’t mean you jump around like Tigger when finding out that you have a horrible disease. It does mean that you try to find the way to say “God, I know we can see this through together”; and then you can rejoice in knowing that is true.

It looks like “I’ve got that joy, joy, joy,joy, down in my heart, down in my heart, down in my heart; I’ve got that joy, joy, joy, joy, down in my heart, down in my heart to stay”….

We can lay claim to joy. We can praise God that there will be a day that we triumph over our troubles with His grace. We can thank Him for making Himself available to strengthen us. Yes, indeed, Joy is a Flag Over Our Lives. Our faces and lives can be outward signs of our love, devotion, and faith…in God and in each other. Happy : Happy family smiling and raise hand together in the park

Buckingham_palace : Queen Victoria memorial near Buckingham Palace Stock Photo

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Flag Over My Life:

  1. Susan Michaels says:

    wonderful imagery…thanks so much! 🙂

  2. Terri O.A. says:

    Kate that was so nice. I could here that song just like I was back in Sunday School. I was blessed to have been around some very great music. Wonderful post!

  3. fgassette says:

    You explained this so well with practical examples on what joy looks like in our lives and how joy is one of the fruit of the spirit. I remember that song also and starting singing it with you.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks Francine…I grew up with parents, relatives, and teachers who always gave examples and analogies to help me learn. I was SO blessed. You be encouraged and blessed, to. God bless you 🙂

  4. Mike Fisk says:

    Always loved this story. A great reminder of the peace we can have knowing our joy comes from the fact that our ‘King’ is home.
    Mike

  5. misswhiplash says:

    Amen to that, and Praise The Lord that He is always resident in my heart and in my house

  6. Joy flying like a huge banner over our homes — love the image of that! Yes, the King is here in our hearts, in our homes, in our very lives. Thank you for this good word!

Leave a Reply

