What’s it to you?

http://jfb57.wordpress.com/ The prompt for the 100 word challenge this week is “Wednesday”. I’m glad it is a 100 word prompt–that means I get to use 99 words!! Here is my story: It is entitled “What’s It To You?”

Quinn shouted  “Nigel you’re schnockered today of all days!”
“What’s it to you? ” Nigel hollered draining his Jameson’s with tears in his eyes.
“Nessie-Eileen is gonna kill you when you stagger in. Och, she’s my sister, you fool.  The church is filling up now” Quinn said, angrily.
“Then you’d best be handin’ me a big cup of that coffee. ‘Tis the day, isn’t it. ‘Tis the day I’ve dreamed of since I was a wee lad. ‘Tis WedNessDay.”
“There’s a lad,” said Quinn.
The two friends headed to church, with coffee in hand and a song in their hearts.

***

That’s two posts where I was brief /. You can go to this link  http://jfb57.wordpress.com/ to see other folks’ entries to the challenge. Since they are just 100 words, you can see them quickly! 😉

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Positive Thinking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to What’s it to you?

  1. hahaha – I always thought that Norse God, Woden myth was a load of tosh.

  2. Sally-Jayne says:

    I love the word schnockered! Is it a real one or did you make it up? I’m going to steal it and use it either way! I’m a big fan of plays on words, so WedNessDay really appealed to me.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Schnockered is slang for intoxicated or drunk. Use it as much as you like. I even like the sound of the word (SHNAH-curd). I like plays on words, too. Thanks, Sally Jane 🙂

  3. Bod for tea says:

    Loved this! Great use of dialogue to tell a story and the play on words is very clever 😀 Newcomer to the 100 word challenge here, thanks for popping over to my place earlier *waves*

  4. Judee says:

    When I was learning to read, I always mentally pronounced it like that, even though I knew it wasn’t so – but I had to remember how to spell it – and i always pictured a wedding. This post is a real treat though, he’s wedding Ness, after all, what a fun way to use the word. 😀

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I did that too!! That is really funny. I remember very carefully, in my best script writing, gripping that pencil and mentally waying Wed-Ness-Day as I Spelled it so as not to spell it Wends Day!!

  5. Him Up North says:

    Is it possible to groan but smile at the same time? Well, I just did. Very clever use of the prompt. 🙂

  6. arbohl says:

    I could really hear the dialogue. Nice post.

  7. That’s great Kate! Well done! Love the pun and the humour. Nice piece.

  8. Gilly Gee says:

    Magical Kate and so very funny 🙂

  9. jfb57 says:

    Brilliant fun! You have been very clever & are obviously a keen linguist! Thank you so much for taking the time to join in this weekly silliness!

Leave a Reply

