What puts the Ape in Apricot

I was thinking about fear and courage today. It is important to throw back my shoulders, stand tall and be filled with the courage the Holy Spirit sends me. Sometimes I need to see in in more simplistic terms. Does that surprise you? Maybe ‘courage for dummies’?

I am reminded of the Cowardly Lion who said: “Courage; What makes a King out of a slave? Courage! What makes the flag on the mast to wave? Courage! What makes the elephant charge his tusk in the misty mist or the dusky dusk? What makes the muskrat guard his musk? Courage! What makes the Sphinx the 7th wonder? Courage!What makes the dawn come out like thunder? Courage! What makes the hottentot so hot? Courage. What puts the ape in ape-ricot? Whatta they got that I ain’t got? (the cast said ‘courage).” Yeah–i like this speech. Lion is so blustery and he is trying so hard to prove that he is fierce and brave. But he tries to prove his courage by bullying. That isn’t courage, of course. Courage is merely standing in the fray for the battle, for instance. it is putting one foot in front of the other and moving forward even if you don’t feel like it!

I also found this quote today about courage. I do not know who wrote it but I really like it! “It takes strength to be firm and it takes courage to be gentle. It takes strength to conquer and it takes courage to surrender. It takes strength to be certain and it takes courage to have doubt. It takes strength to fit in and it takes courage to stand out. I takes strength to feel a friend’s pain and it takes courage to feel your own pain. It takes strength to endure abuse and it takes courage to stop it. It takes strength to stand alone and it takes courage to lean on another. It takes strength to love and it takes courage to be loved. It takes strength to survive and it takes courage to live”.—by Unknown

So those are my thoughts on courage. Be courageous!! Courage begets strength. We can do all things through Christ who strengthens us 🙂

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What puts the Ape in Apricot

  1. auntyuta says:

    Great thoughts on courage and strength. I love this post. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

