Have you ever protested for anything? Daily Post Topic #309

Have you ever protested for anything?. I have protested but not in the Occupy Wall Street Way. Instead, I got involved and worked “within the system”. When I became upset about poverty and hunger, I spent my hard earned money on food to donate to the food pantry and canvassed my neighborhood for food. I got pledges to sponsor me for the Walk for Human Development (often called the Hunger Hike) and walked in it every year for years. When I became upset about pollution and litter I organized people and we just went ahead and picked up all the trash and litter along the roadsides.

I joined an organization that raised all the money to build Ronald McDonald House in the town I lived in at the time. We had countless fundraisers, silent auctions, hikes, you name it.We raised the money and we got it built. I was taught to be a problem solver, not just a problem pointer outer.

At various times in various cities when i have seen groups of people (nationalities differ by city) struggling economically I have taught workshops to teach them how to improve their lot in life…with reading, math, budgeting, job skills, interviewing skills, whatever. Often this has been done with my involvement with church or fraternal organizations. It keeps me a perennial optimist.

When I complained at dinner that our parish didn’t send their juniors and seniors on a retreat my mom said ‘what are YOU going to do about that”? I went to the pastor, he said no. I came back home and said ‘can we have a retreat in our rec room” my folks said sure. So we did. We invited the associate pastor. He came for part of one of the days. It was a wonderful retreat. A few months later I went back to the pastor and asked if we could send the seniors to a retreat the next year. He said yes. He could see that we weren’t trying to be demanding brats. 🙂

I certainly wrote letters to my congressmen and senators when i wanted things changed. i didn’t go to the protest marches. my parents were well aware of the potential dangers and mob psychology so they nixed it.I was pretty tiny at the time (about 5’ 2″ and 110 lbs at the time)so  i was fine with that.

But throughout the years, when there has been a situation i didn’t like i got involved. I consider that positive protest with very low chance of slipping into bullying behavior.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Have you ever protested for anything? Daily Post Topic #309

  1. auntyuta says:

    You are proof that people can always opt for doing something to make things in society a little bit better. Thank you for sharing your experiences and for staying a ‘perennial’ optimist despite difficulties and setbacks..

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I owe all of my efforts to the influence and guidance of articulate, faithful, joyous, loving relatives and teachers…..i would be a total bozo if it wasn’t for them!!!!

Leave a Reply

