The Blessing of Ordinary Days – My own Post # 272

Some days and times are big, special, extraordinary, even mountaintop experiences. On those kinds of days I feel super-charged, full of heightened awareness, happy, almost weeping with joy. We don’t get tons of those days—if we did they wouldn’t seem so special after awhile. I have come to really appreciate a normal day. I gues that is why this quote from Mary Jean Iron meant so much to me today.

“Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are. Let me learn from you, love you, bless you before you depart. Let me not pass you by in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow. let me hold you while I may, for it may not always be so. One day i shall dig my nails into the earth, or bury my face in the pillow, or stretch myself taut, or raise my hands to the sky and want, more than all the world, your return”.

I always think of learning something from the challenging moments, from the trials and triumphs. It helps me bear up rather than dispair, when I am looking for a moral or lesson to my own story. Since I am a perennial optimist and often have (as is my wont) stars in my eyes, I do have days when I thirst for a perfect tomorrow. In fact, if we didn’t believe in the possibilities of a perfect tomorrow, would we still strive for heaven? Perhaps not!

So this struck a chord with me…that I am to learn from my ordinary days and bless them as well. Which, of course, makes me think of the Seals and Crofts song “We may never pass this way again”. Indeed we will not! I only get one today. Will it be ordinary? difficult? a triumph? I do not know yet. But I know it is God’s gift to me. My gift to Him at day’s end will be what I did with His gift. Amen? Yes, Amen and a big Alleluia.

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Blessing of Ordinary Days – My own Post # 272

  1. Let’s learn, whatsoever state we are in, therewith to be content? Yes.

  2. diggingher says:

    Your sentiments are mine as well. It can be so hard though when midst of trial to look for the lesson. I have discovered the faster we move from woe is me to finding the reason the better me and the world becomes. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

