See how long you can sit in silence: topic # 150

See how long you can sit in silence. See how long you can sit in silence. Before you start,check the clock and guess at how long you can do it for. Then when you’re done: how close was your guess? Surprised? What did you experience while siting? Was it pleasant or frustrating? I sat in silence for almost 45 minutes. I let my mind wander to various happy times and memories. I tried to picture myself in various places I have lived, spending time with people I love. I found myself making lists in my head, which is not a surprise. I forced myself to think instead about conversations that brought me joy, gatherings that were fun, teachers I loved, my friends, and of course my husband and son. I tried to journey over the years with each of these people. It really felt like a mini-vacation by the time I finished. I figured I would occupy myself with this activity for 20 to 30 mins at the most. I was pleasantly surprised that I had been going for 45 minutes! It was kind of a directed meditation exercise and was a wonderful de-stresser.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

