Why do we require students to take history/social studies?

Why do I have to take history and social studies?

Why do I have to take history/social studies? That is a mantra that many of my students repeat, over and over. Of course, I tell them that those who do not learn from history are destined to repeat it. I tell them that I am counting on them to become an educated person, so that they know the context of things, and the warning signs. With all that has been happening around the world in the past few weeks, months, and years, that historical context has become even more important.

There is a video circulating around FaceBook that really drives that point home. Save this post on your computer so that as you make your way through world history courses, you can use the video to help you visualize what happened over time. It is all connected. It all has implications. Never forget that. You see, by knowing how we have traveled through time as a human race, we begin to understand that decisions, events, and actions are not as random as we think. Knowing the connections and potential outcomes can help to make us more mindful. Mindfulness can bring true progress.

Take a look at the video. As we journey through the continuing developments in Russia, Syria, and more, stay aware and mindful!

http://loiter.co/v/watch-as-1000years-of-european-boarders-change/

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in education and career, politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why do we require students to take history/social studies?

  1. Kate, I’ve been substitute teaching at a Christian school and I’ll tell you what. Even though my degree is in English and I enjoy teaching those classes, I’ve come to really enjoy subbing in the history/social studies and American Government classes as well. Students today need to be reminded to look outside of their own little bubbles of life.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      oh they need that so very much. {I LOVE teaching government/civics—to inspire them to be part of the process, part of the voters, part of the ones keeping an eye on the body politic….}.

Leave a comment