Believing during bends in the road

Does your life always stay on an even keel with nothing unexpected? Can you multitask and stay caught up with everything all at the same time? These, of course, are merely rhetorical questions. Twists and turns in our road become our own breathtaking scenery if we remember to believe anyway. Keep believing, even if the signs say detour or road closed.

Those who read my blog are well aware that I cannot multitask when I have a platter overflowing with work. I have been sporadic at best in writing my posts. This year I have increased my tutoring load and working hours by about 25%. As a result, everything else in my life is completely behind. My students are a few weeks away from final exams and then there will be more time.

But you see, the words in my heart still need an outlet. Unfortunately, when I am working so much, I do not take the time to ponder what is in my heart and pull the words from my heart, soul, and mind out of me and onto paper! After a long period of time, my heart, soul, and mind feel downright constipated! For a long time, all that was in my heart was some sorrow from some very unexpected heartbreak. It weighed me down, and altered how I felt about myself. I didn’t like it, but I couldn’t change a thing about it. It added to the typical “workload clutter”. It still leaves me in an altered state, and keeps me on unsteady feet at times. It goes dormant, but rears its head again when life puts me in the paths of the source of the sorrow.

I was praying about that just the other day. I realized once again that taking the time each day to write will reduce my mental clutter and help me focus. So as I stagger through the final weeks of the school year, I hope to write each day. As I said when I began my blog, even if no one reads it or likes it, it brings beauty to my own life to simply create.

The last year and a half have had different sorts of challenges and heartaches. I am still working through those. But the past is only prologue to the present and future. It is not the Berlin Wall. As a matter of fact, my Shepherd guides me still, and today may He continue to guide me in the garden of His heart.

May your gardens be lush, and may the rains fall gently upon you today.

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Believing during bends in the road

  1. cobbies69 says:

    I like to write, mostly poetry or short stories. At moment doing for campnano’ if I post any then I do enjoy peoples comments very much.. It is what inspires me, I know I am wrong but I get a little low if I do not get any response.. like you though I enjoy writing. no matter the quality… 😉

  2. Hey! There you are! It’s so good to hear from you. You know, I am glad you are busy, because you do so much GOOD! 🙂 And I suppose these teaching episodes do pay…so that is good, too. Bless you for taking time out that you scarcely had, to write something for us. ❤

    • Kate Kresse says:

      They do pay, and that is definitely good. There are so many students who need help—I have even had to turn some away this year because I just did not have enough available time slots! It helped me recharge my batteries to actually write a blog post…

      I need to WRITE!!! love you ❤

      • Yeah. I know. I need to write, too. You may have noticed I’m not doing so! Guest posting takes more time for some reason. Whew! 🙂

        • Kate Kresse says:

          Guest posting IS writing!!! It takes longer because you are a guest in someone else’s home!

          • Have to make changes after I’m all done. Have to use my own photos instead of importing something. Have to make sure it is perfect before I send (more so than usual). Have to write back and forth about what and when and how and how much, etc., and wait for these busy people to get back with me. But it is good, still, after all that! 🙂

  3. Ah, Kate, how well I know what you’re going through. You and I are traveling similar paths with the unexpected heartache…mine still rears its ugly head too at times. 😦 And even though, unlike you, I do have the time to write, the words seemed cooped up inside. Maybe because it’s been such a long, hard winter here in more ways than one. I pray spring blessings for you — that glorious time of renewal.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I know you do…and yes, it is a few steps forward and then some back….but you know what? Katharine T reminded me that the Evil One is eager to destroy relationships….that is one of his horrid strategies….that statement was so freeing to me today…
      I mean how surprised can we be that the enemy of our Lord would want to destroy all that is lovely and loving. Of course he would. And of course our Lord will come in and provide His healing balm and grace…. it will be okay. Down the shore of Galilee we go…to His loving arms….
      ❤

Leave a Reply

