What % of who you are is genetics vs your choices? Daily post topic #291

What % of who you are is genetics vs your choices?. It’s the age-old question of nature vs nurture, isn’t it? As an adoptive mom, the sister to two adopted brothers, and the sister-in-law to an adopted woman I have something special to say. It doesn’t matter. It is all a combination of both. Of course it matters how you were raised. but that has less to do with chromosomes and more to do with love, faith, steadfastness, inspiration, devotion, and hopefully some humor, too. Genetics plays a part in things. However, it isn’t the only answer. If it was, then all the kids in each family would be completely alike. I read somewhere that if you take two people at random on the planet they are still related as distant cousins. We are all related. thus, if love surrounds you at some point in your life, it will shape you. It can compel you to greatness.

I am a product of my genetics, certainly. But even more importantly, who I have become is largely a by-product of the wonderful people that entered my life. I have a fabulous and extensive family tree. I have been richly blessed by relatives, teachers, and friends who do not give up on me. Certainly there have been times when they each could have thought I might not be worth it. Sometimes I am not loving enough. But they still stick with me. I believe that with that much blessing in my life, God expects me to bless them and others. God expects me to pay it forward. He blessed me with faith that has deepened. I don’t wonder at all if His (or life’s) expectations are fair or reasonable. I keep pushing through and hope that I improve and help others. That is just how God made me.

So genetics or choices?? Both of course!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What % of who you are is genetics vs your choices? Daily post topic #291

  1. Tilly Bud says:

    Well said! Of course genetics play a part but environment is important too.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      It’s always an interesting argument. I know they try to study identical twins that were raised separately to try to get to the bottom of the issue. My argument is if it’s all genetics then Aldous Huxley was correct and we don’t need families at all. I do NOT like that option, thus environment usually equals or trumps genetics in my opinion—but poth play a strong role!

  2. Oh, it is so much! My brain hurts to think of it!
    Of course, genetics plays a role. And upbringing. But we each also have to take those two factors and decide what we will make of them. So there’s a third factor. Then we have much, much input from outside others, such as teachers and blogs and coworkers. And the input they put in to my life is a product of their genetics, upbringing, decidsions, and teachers . . .
    It’s like rain falling into a pool–creates constant ripples over a surface than cannot possibly be smooth.
    And evereything I was given and have decided affects you, while you are affecting others . . .
    šŸ˜

Leave a comment