Cast your cares

803335_2958021367532_1322218643_n.jpg

Sometimes we can become consumed by worries and anxieties, or at least I can. Of course, worrying and fretting never improves a situation. What is called for is a clear head. That is easier said than done when we are faced with huge challenges. There are days when I supposedly give a situation to God, and then almost instantly grab it right back. Psalm 55 addresses this. “But I will call upon God, and the Lord will save me. At dusk, dawn, and noon I will grieve and complain, and my prayer will be heard. God will give me freedom and peace from those who roar against me.” (Psalm 55: 17-19).

I was at a presentation last night, and the speaker was talking about this psalm, and went on to mention Psalm 55:23 “Cast your cares upon the Lord and He will sustain you”. I was in a group discussion after the presentation, and I said that this particular verse really hit home with me. I noted that the verse is He will sustain me, not He will prove to everyone that I was right and they were wrong. Sustaining is really all we need. His sheltering arms and His grace are all we need in order to get through some of life’s biggest challenges. No one has a magic wand.

i love to go a-wandering along the mountain paths, and as i go i love to sing, my backpack on my back

Magic wands are not what mountain climbers use to reach the top of Mt. Everest. No, indeed. The successful climbers go through physical training, a lot of planning, gathering a team of climbers and support personnel, and develop a schedule and plan that includes setting up camps for rest along the route.

When we are dealing with challenges, we do so successfully when we use this approach. For me, part of facing challenges must involve my support team and putting God in charge of it all. Then I need to listen for hints about what approach makes the most sense.

One of the keys for me is to resist the urge to panic or overreact. Just because I do not instantly have a plan or solution to a situation does NOT mean there isn’t one. Once I calm down and trust God, the early part of the path becomes visible. If we trust God, and step forward on that path, we will continue to see the way unfolding. Or, if we do not see it, perhaps we will have peace in our hearts and be able to figure out a path. What I am saying today is this: He will sustain us. He will strengthen and support us through it all. His grace is enough.

difficultRoads

If you are worried or anxious today, may His promise in the Psalm sustain you and give you peace. If you have been off the path and gotten tangled up in underbrush, look around and head towards what appears to be a path. Don’t worry, keep asking God to reveal His path. You WILL head towards the correct path. Face it, if I can find a way with the help of God and loving friends, so can you. You are less alone in your battle than you realize.

May God bless you today ~ and every day. Just around the corner may be a friend, a friend who blesses you with her friendship and a cup of coffee. My God is an amazing God ~ He gave me this friend and a few others who have reached out in these past few months, with perfect timing, and loving non-judgmental hearts. Yes indeed, God sustains me.

timHorton

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cast your cares

  1. GodGirl says:

    Beautifully said. God’s timing is amazing, and his gifts in times of stress are particularly precious.

  2. Difficult roads often DO lead to beautiful destinations! You have no idea how many battles I’ve fought just to be on line, but here I am, finding you. ❤ K

  3. Beautifully said. One of the hardest lessons I have had to learn is the difference between reacting to life and responding to life.

  4. I needed to read this today, several days after you posted it. God always knows exactly what we need when we need it. Thanks Kate for being His messenger.

  5. Sojourner says:

    Worry is one of the worst problems among Christians today. It is an affront to God because it displays our complete lack of trust. During a major trial MY wife and I faced, a friend suggested we write 1 Peter 5:6-7 on our bathroom mirror. It is similar to the Psalm verse. We need to continually remind ourselves we have direct access to Immanuel!

    Good post!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      thanks, Sojourner. that verse from 1 Peter is a favorite of mine. I can really relate to Peter ~ he at times was so instinctual, you know emotions all over the place. He, Like I, had to learn to trust consistently!

Leave a Reply

