Listen: What Does That Mean These Days?

Ever since I saw Dream girls, one of the things I think of when I hear the one-word request/command “Listen” is the song Beyonce sang in the movie. For those who have not seen the movie, suffice it to say that she is singing that song as an anthem to getting up, moving on, and finding her voice. She is telling the world to Listen. Many times when we listen, we are actually just biding our time until the other person stops talking so we can put in our two cents’ worth.

Today, though, when I am saying Listen, I am saying it to myself as a reminder to Listen….Listen to what my heart already knows. What does it know? To be gentle and kind. To give. To inspire when I can. But the well of grace that this comes from within myself is not from myself. It is from my potter, my well-maker, my source of living water.

When I stop to listen, my stomping and resistance disappears. When I stop to listen, and wait for my listening to actually take place, I hear it….I do….I hear:” you are loved; now go love. I am here~be here”. He says to me “the world needs Me; bring Me to them. By your walking with Me, they will want to journey with Me too. Smile so they know the journey is worth it”. And I say “Yes, Lord”.

The photo below was taken by my friend Terri–she is an amazing photographer. Can you listen to the photo? Can you hear the waves?

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Listen: What Does That Mean These Days?

  1. niasunset says:

    Yes, I can… so beautiful dear Kate, Thanks and Love, nia

  2. fgassette says:

    Wise words. Thanks for sharing. I hear you.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  3. jelillie says:

    An awesome word Kate. We live in aculture that takes too little time to actually listen to anything including ourselves. As I “listened to the picture” I saw the cross in the middle of all the branches. Maybe it’s just because I have the cross in my mind. Maybe its because “Lost in the Shadow of the Cross” by Steven Curtis Chapman is playing in the background. 🙂

  4. Caddo Veil says:

    Excellent message, Kate!

  5. shhh… HE is speaking through my heart. Quieting my mind, Soothing my soul, …
    shhh.. HE is enveloping me for these blessed moments..HE is listening.. HE hears me..
    shhh …please…so that i may hear HIS whipsers in the wind,
    shhh.. please… so that I may listen too…….

  6. joseyphina says:

    Powerful message….thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

