Pumpkin Chili

Slow Cooker 3-Bean Pumpkin Chili
Adapted from Black Bean and Pumpkin Chili from Real Mom Kitchen

3 garlic cloves, minced
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 large onion, chopped
1 – 2 sweet yellow or orange pepper, chopped
3 cups broth (vegetable or chicken)
3 cans beans of your choice , rinsed and drained
1 can pure pumpkin (15/16 oz)
1 can diced tomatoes, undrained
2 teaspoons chipotle chili powder
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
2 teaspoons oregano
good pinch salt and pepper
Greek yogurt or sour cream, for serving _-or crumble some goat cheese on top if you can’t do dairy—that’s what I will do!

Add garlic and olive oil to slow cooker and turn on high while you are chopping your vegetables. Add all ingredients to slow cooker and stir to combine. Place lid on tightly and cook for 4-5 hours or until heated through.
Taste for salt and pepper before serving.

~~~

Throwing this in the crock pot so it is ready when I get home!!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in food and recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Pumpkin Chili

  1. Lucid Gypsy says:

    This sounds delicious,I’m intrigued by pumpkins in a tin, I don’t think we have them here.

  2. fgassette says:

    I agree, this does sound delicious. Must give it a try. Thanks for sharing.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  3. You know, I always make a new soup at Thanksgiving time, for the Wednesday before, when folks arrive at all hours. We just eat soup and cornbread for supper that night. Usually one soup is venison/noodle soup and the other is something exotic. Like this one! 😉
    Thanks!

  4. dogear6 says:

    Interesting! Thanks for the recommendation.

    Nancy

  5. Yummo Kate. With corn bread..I’m there if you are cooking, and we are talking late into the evening.. some James Taylor in the back ground… You’ve Got a Friend….

    • Kate Kresse says:

      oh yeah—corn bread—or warm sourdough bread…..and definitely talking late into the evening….candles, talking, James Taylor, PP&M, John Denver, Carole King, Joni Mitchell, Byrds, Seals and Croft, Bread, Bob Dylan, S&G, Mamas and the Papas….and a lovely glass of wine!

  6. Caddo Veil says:

    Wow, Kate–this sounds really GOOD–I love it when you give us a crock pot recipe!!! God bless you Big–love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      It came out really, really tasty! I ate 2 big bowls. Now if you like your chili spicy, you need to ramp up the spices, as this was super-mild. God bless you big—come for chili or soup anytime, ok> As Tom Bodette says “we’ll leave a light on for you”

      • Caddo Veil says:

        Bless your dear heart, Kate, for everything–but especially the Tom B quote, which I LOVE! I had been fretting yesterday, thinking maybe things weren’t “cool” between us. Thanks for the spice tip about this recipe! I have 2 to work on today: I’m going to make a “creamy” 15 bean soup (with ham “stuff” I froze ages ago); and I’m going to fix a zucchini casserole with Italian chicken sausage, cheese, and other stuff in it. I love “cooking days”! And like you, I LOVE to make soups–there’s some kind of psycho-spiritual thing about it that really lifts and fills me! God bless you BIG–love, sis Caddo

        • Kate Kresse says:

          there is something amazingly fulfilling about making stew, soup, chili….just throwing stuff in the pot or crockpot and letting it simmer for hours making the home smell all kinds of yummy!! how did the 15 bean soup turn out? Oh I love that soup! It smells so good on a coudy glooomy day…and with some warm corn bread or some biscuits! things are good with us Caddo~my blogging and communication is behind, as I have 16-20 students a week right now. I have a number of semi short-termers each prepping for the ASVAB (armed services test)—they are part of the big increase. I think the state of the economy and joblessness here in AZ has motivated numerous guys to try to join the military so they can at least get a paying job.

  7. Anna Gall says:

    Sounds awesome! We will be making soon … chili weather is here!

  8. territerri says:

    Bookmarking this recipe to try sometime soon! Sounds yummy!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      By the way, when I made it I used plain old Paprika and Chili Powder. (I know, daring substitution, right? 😉 ). It was so delicious that I had multiple bowls the day I made it!

Leave a Reply

