Sketch Photo: Homesick for the Sea

When I am homesick for the sea I have some gorgeous photos on my wall of oceans at sunset. I must clarify that those are photos I did not take. Sometimes i need more immediacy than that. I am at times very tactile. As a result of that I have some seashells from Long Beach Island, NJ and some shells from the Island of St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands. I have some of the LBI seashells on a table in my family room. When I took my drawing class, I sketched those shells from up above them. That got around my issues with perspective drawing. I uploaded a photo of that sketch on this post. I had already discovered that I could draw things with my charcoals that had lines on them (like pumpkins and seashells) and learned how to create ‘shiny spots’ and shadows. Big girl, Kate 🙂

Shells from LBI, Jersey Shore

Shells resting on a table.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Nature, Sketches, quilts, photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment