What do you want now? Really?

On Valentine’s Day we often think about cards, flowers, candy, maybe even jewelry. But these days I am thinking more of grand ideas. I am thinking of what I would really love to have if I could have anything. Do you ever do that? If so, how many of those things? It doesn’t matter what the number is. Oh, pick a number. What would you REALLY like 500 more of?

I can think of a few things I would like 500 more of. 500 more days of being on retreat or vacation with my husband comes to mind. We just begin to relax, and then we are each back in the saddle again. It would be lovely to have 500 paid days off (in a row maybe, or scattered)–to really re-connect.

I would like 500 more days with each of my friends and relations that are far away from here.Or maybe even far beyond the horizons of this life.  I would like 500 more days with my son at his various growing up years. 500 more nights to read him bedtime stories. 500 more days to look for frogs and bugs.

I would like 500 more seashells to skip into 500 more ocean waves on the Jersey shore followed by 500 more meals of seafood and 500 more walks on the beach.

500 more songs by the Beatles (in the pre-sitar years)—500 more days with some of my favorite teachers.

On top of all of that how about 500 more books with plenty of bookshelves to store them in. Oh wait! That is why I got my kindle!

But tell me this—–what would you like 500 more of?

The lovely thing that keeps me going is that heaven contains 500 infinities of time with those we love.

So today, as you consider the meaning of love, Valentine’s Day, people, life….remember that always God grants us more, and we grant each other more. What will you fondly wish for more of this day?

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Family Life and Issues and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to What do you want now? Really?

  1. Kathy says:

    Love this!
    I would like 500 days of vacations with Terry and our family. Mostly with him, though.
    I would like 500 more road trips and adventures with him.
    I would like 500 more days of our kids being 5, 6 and 9 or 6, 7 and 10.
    I would like 500 more Sundays and weeks of our Koinonia Sunday School Class with Ken Killinski as our church’s pastor.
    I would like 500 more days with my dad.
    I would like to be in attendance at 500 playoff/championship games won by the Texas Rangers.

  2. 1. Followers
    2. Hours in each day
    3. Miles closer to you. 🙂

  3. Lucid Gypsy says:

    I would like 500 people to gift peace to 500 people to gift peace to 500 . . .

  4. Caddo Veil says:

    Boy, this is a tough question, Kate–and on a holiday! I really can’t think of a thing I want–I’m pretty content, Happy-Skippee Caddo!

  5. dogear6 says:

    500 days to just relax and do what I want. Not going to work, not cleaning up dog pee, not cooking. 500 days to wander, read and take pictures. And yes, to also blog too!

Leave a comment