In my own little corner, in my own little chair

Everyone needs a place to go when they need quiet time. In Rogers’ and Hammerstein’s Cinderella,  she went to her own little corner, her own little chair. As for me, the “where I go’ depends on why I need quiet time. If I need quiet time in order to make a decision, I might go to my den and write, blog, or read some scripture. I will make my pros/cons list. Or i might just sit on my patio or balcony. Of course in the dead heat of summer when it is in the 100s that is not an option. In that case I might do my “go for a walk in the house” thing. That is my routine of doing laps within the house.

On the other hand, if I need quiet time because I am stressed, aggravated, or down, the best thing is to either:

1. get out in nature—walk in my neighborhood or a park, get near water [in my case a pond or little lake, since that is what is nearby).
2. stop by my church and pray
3. take a nap
4. get out my charcoals and paper and draw in my den
5. head to my room and think, pray, or read.
6. go to a bookstore or the library.
7. Keep the news programs and talk radio OFF

I find that it helps me stay centered to have some quiet time. Some days my quiet time consists of driving between errands and going to Sprouts or Whole Foods. Both places are brightly lit, full of lovely produce, and smiley-friendly yet non-chaotic and quiet. If I am at the library I can look out the window at a gorgeous nature scene. Wouldn’t that bring peace to your soul too?

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Health and exercise and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to In my own little corner, in my own little chair

  1. Jayne says:

    Hi, Kate! I have a friend at work and we sing this song to each other when we are having frazzled days and wish we could just creep away and regroup for a bit! Any day that starts with a Rogers and Hammerstein song is okay by me, though. I hope you have a nice day, too.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      totally agree with you about rogers and hammerstein! wouldn’t it be great if life worked like a musical and you could just burst into song any old time? I so remember the lovely and wan lesley ann warren singing that song with the cinders on her face….I wish I worked at your office —how fun to have someone to sing with!!

  2. Hard to imagine Kate, depressed. But so glad you know how to ditch it! 😉

  3. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Great escapes Kate, walking works for me.

  4. Always loved that song. In my own little corner, in my own little chair is a great escape too. 🙂

  5. dogear6 says:

    Lovely advice. Would enjoy hearing in more detail what you did with your charcoals or read. Or even your prayers (if you can share).

    Nancy

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks Nancy~~ I will have to post about that over the weekend. I appreciate, really appreciate the prod/encouragement ❤ kate

      • dogear6 says:

        I’ve noticed you’re going more of a devotional route (as you’d shared me with late last year) and I’ve been liking it. It’s not preachy or full of nothing but Bible verses, but rather how you are living your life. It seems your readers are liking it too. I also think the more relaxed posting schedule has been good for you too – your posts have lost some of that frantic edge and the tone (to me) is calmer and quieter.

        Nancy

        • Kate Kresse says:

          Nancy~ I am so glad you like it. You are right about the calmer/quieter. To a certain extent, that is how I am feeling. I am making a conscious attempt to only post when I feel moved to do so, for lack of a better way to put it. Perhaps by using that tactic, I feel less self-conscious when I do write or post. I can only offer my life/insights/and faith journey as examples of how my journey is progressing. Thanks, my friend. –love, kate

Leave a Reply

