Dreams are illustrations – part 1 of 2

“Dreams are illustrations from the book your soul is writing about you”. Marsha Norman. I love this quote. Whether we consider the dreams that happen while we are asleep, or whether we are talking about the dreams that we have about our own (or our loved ones’ lives) we know that the dreams give flavor to our lives.

But as we ponder on dreams realized, dreams discarded, and dreams that recur we realize something. Dreams are also the compass God hard wires into our hearts.

Think about it. when you were a child did you dream about writing a blog? When I was a child they did not exist. Rather, I dreamed about writing books. I dreamed about teaching people how to do things. I played school with the neighborhood kids and my cousins.

One reason I dreamed about writing books was that many of the books I read had a central, or at least important, character that wanted to become a writer. In each instance, the character did become a writer. Did I gravitate to those books because God created me to write? Or did I decide to write because I loved those books? What would my direction have been if I read a lot of books about horses? Would I have set forth to purchase a horse ranch?

I am trying to differentiate between interests, hobbies, and mission. When I was a kid I took ballet lessons. I loved the whole experience of dancing. But I didn’t long to become a professional ballerina. Not the same way I believed I would write and teach. Taking ballet lessons and practicing at home made me very happy. Isn’t this little girl cute? It isn’t me, but she is cute.

But I knew that it (dance) would not be my career. I didn’t fantasize about that. But I did fantasize about writing books.

In my corporate world I wrote procedures manuals and career-path manuals for the people I managed. I wrote training manuals for the people who replaced me. I believed there was value in the written word. I knew that those who needed the information would be able to rely upon what I wrote.

So now we blog. It has a different kind of value. Sometimes the value is elusive or even temporary. But for me, blogging is a way of being expressive. In that respect it is much like my dancing years. It is an outlet. It makes me happy to do it. It makes me a part of a community. But my achievement is far different from many of the blogs I read ~ I do not envision fame or renown from this blog. Yet I am content with that. Believe Anyway is my little way of reaching out; of lending some light for the path. I firmly believe that if someone needs my kind of encouragement they will somehow find their way to this blog. I began blogging for my own sanity. Everything else has been a bonus.

In the past few months, I have discovered something. My writing has (or needs to have) two distinct paths. In  sense it has two separate and distinct purposes. I have this blog, which fulfills my expressive and creative side. Remember when I wrote about my drawing? I told you I was great at drawing onions, shells, pumpkins and apples. I told you (without any regrets) that I fell far short of the mark in perspective drawing for things like boxes, draped things, etc. I need that expressiveness. I have the need or mission to encourage and perhaps inspire or comfort. Those are good things. But then there is the other path.

That has been pulling at me; that is what I misinterpreted as being “blocked”. More on that tomorrow! Please come back!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Writing and Literature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Dreams are illustrations – part 1 of 2

  1. joseyphina says:

    Lovely post, Kate. Thanks for posting.

  2. auntyuta says:

    My best friend did ballet and she was good at it. I loved to go to ballet performances, I loved to see movies with a lot of ballet in it. Gee, did I wish I could dance like this! But I knew I never could and I never would. The same with writing. Still I love to read people’s blogs, same as I love to watch ballet. With writing blogs I have been given a chance to participate, to express my views, to make known which blogs I love to read and can learn from. And with blogging I find often people say something personal that tells me a lot about their life and what moves them; what makes them tick so to speak. Even if a blog is written in a hurry and maybe under time pressure, it has immense worth as a statement about people’s condition and for keeping in touch. I find blogging is a wonderful way for keeping in touch with kindred spirits!
    Thanks, Kate, for inspiring me to write this response.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      do you remember The Turning Point with Anne Bancroft and Shirley MacLaine? oooh and Barishkinov? That was a really good movie! My heart still loves to dance—and i agree…i love to read folks blogs—so wondrous to see and feel their world…i love to see your travels, your australia…your yard and flowers….i travel the world with people, and live in all kinds of places through others’ eyes. what a privilege.

  3. Caddo-Jael says:

    I think you and I have similar blog-goals, encouragement rather than “fame and fortune”. I love this statement: “Dreams are the compass God hard-wired into our hearts”–wowwee zowwee, that sings to me! God bless you–love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I love to encourage…..i really do; and yeh—He gave me that line….I said “really, are you sure?” He said “mmmhmm! LOL me asking HIM if HE is sure….silly me!!! God bless you too…love, k

  4. Very, very interesting Kate. Dreams can seem mysterious to me at times. I don’t remember my dreams that often and when I do they are quite vivid. Have a great day my friend. hugs, Renee 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      thanks my friend. sometimes i remember lots about my dreams, other times i don’t think i dreamed at all. those times it is like i went from conscious to unconscious to back to conscious….with no realization i slept or dreamed!hugs to you, too.

  5. phylor says:

    Dreams hold such power — I may not remember childhood places, but I remember some of the dreams I had back then.
    I believe that dreams are a way of finding ourselves; just as blogs evolve, and what you started out blogging about is shaped by your dreams, your encounters, your faith.
    Sometimes, dreams show the absurdity of today, a conduit to the past (not just our own), and a key to the future. They might be funny. Other times they can carry serious and important ideas that aren’t developed while we’re awake. I’ve dream about my parents a lot. In my dreams they are always the same age as I remember from childhood. Perhaps I’m not listening to the messages they may bring.
    Following our dreams is such a layered phrase: waking dreams; or afternoon naps. Following your dreams to study, become, say an an architect, etc. You are an architect of powerful words.
    PS: I loved the movie, The Turning Point, watched around the time I thought I should reorganize my life.

  6. Pingback: It only happens when I fall asleep. | Tuesday2's Blog

Leave a Reply

