In our hearts we all long

“In our hearts we all long for a more real, more vibrant and deeper faith–a real faith. we meet real faith in people who know the real god. real faith requires an attentive heart.  We experience faith in action before we understand it. Do you ever find yourself wondering where your faith comes from? It comes from an experience of love. When faith takes root in your heart it will ripple through your life—if you let it. best of all, it doesn’t stop with you. it demands to be shared and communicated as an ‘experience of grace and joy’ for others. When faith grows, all we need to do is stand still and let God find us”. —- mary ann barnhorn

I read that quote in a newsletter a couple of months ago. I have been pondering it ever since. Debates reverberate about faith, grace, works, and more. My faith and my knowledge of God are a gift. Throughout my life, God has been there for me. To me, the big meaning behind Pentecost was that the message to the apostles was to be bold, spread the word. throughout His ministry, Jesus reminded His followers to continually live their faith–to feed the hungry, clothe the naked, visit the imprisoned, care for the sick…love their neighbor. You see, when you are filled with love, how can you ever have a finite amount of care for others?

Now I totally “get” that there are days, weeks, or even longer when we are worn out, worn down, care-worn, and feel completely washed out. We feel that we have nothing left inside us to spare—we just can’t do it anymore. But you see, that is the wondrous mystery of giving and loving. It is at those times when we have no choice but to regroup and collapse, that someone else begins to give with renewed strength. The world goes on.

We each long for love, affirmation, the chance to give, the chance to be heard. The King of renewed chances is there through it all, that is what I believe. Even on days when I feel downright lousy about myself, I know that He loves me. Signs of it abound. Every day my son and my husband are there. They keep on having faith in our family.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to In our hearts we all long

  1. you wrote>> It is at those times when we have no choice but to regroup and collapse, that someone else begins to give with renewed strength. The world goes on.>>

    this is why I have such trouble understanding when people suffer from depression, or approach the world with a negative mindset! I guess I don’t understand NOT having faith that something good will come to people exactly when they need it to!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      i think with depression they can no longer see that the good will come. they either have been smacked down too often, or they cannot hear the messages for biochemical reason, or they have been misunderstood/misinterpreted too many times. It gets really hard for some people some times—all we can do is try to lift them up the best we can. the rest is in god’s hands!

  2. auntyuta says:

    When you loose your faith I think this a called the ‘dark nights’. If you’re lucky they won’t last long, but for some people they seem to last a long time. Still I think there’s always the possibility to get help if we are willing to accept help.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      They are called the dark nights, uta! Sometimes if you are in those dark nights it gets hard to come out of them. Some people start to come out and get smacked down by someone, making it even harder (for a while anyway) to come out of the dark night. Lots of prayer, and the right people helping can make all the difference in the world!

  3. joseyphina says:

    Great post, Kate. Just what i needed to start this week. God bless you. 🙂

  4. dogear6 says:

    My husband and I see it as a very real strength that we have energy and time often when the other one doesn’t. The first weekend we had to deep clean the house (from the windows), I had energy and did it mostly myself. The second time it happened (from fixing fans and bathrooms), I just couldn’t and he didn’t mind doing it at all. This happens over and over; being a team and doing what we can when we can takes us a long ways.

    Nancy

    • Kate Kresse says:

      nancy—the same thing happens with us, and has for a long time. There are rare times when we are both unble to do things. That gets super-frustrating and discouraging. Of course, in retrospect, those are the times when we both just needed to rest!!

  5. jaels says:

    You’re singin’ my song, Sis–look for my “hurkin'” testimony, coming soon to a theater near you. God bless you BIG.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      God bless you BIG too. Here is something funny. In the Phoenix area there is a HUGE movie theater chain called the Harkin’s theater (owned by the Harkin family). I did a double-take when you said “hurkin”!

Leave a Reply

