Write about a mistake you can learn from Post # 122

Write about a mistake you can learn from. There have been times I have trusted too easily and been too open with people. This at times has ended up in hurt for me. For example, I assume there is more of a friendship between me and someone than there really is. It turns out they don’t consider me a friend at all—just a convenient source of favors. It turns out they have a very superior attitude and look down upon me and my life choices, or my husband, or my son, or all three of us.

What this has taught me is to just be more aware. As soon as I pick up on that kind of attitude in the person that I had assumed was a friend, I pull back. I attempt not to leave myself in the position to be ‘put down’ or judged. Life is too short to be encumbered by fake friendships with people that do not respect you for who you are. I took decades to learn this. My reaction used to be to try to change enough to fit in with the ones that were judging me or putting me down. Then I realized they were doing me a favor with the rejection and cruelty. My mistake wasn’t trusting them in the first place. Nope. I choose to continue to trust and believe. My mistake was to continue to trust and believe when their behaviors no longer warranted the trust and belief.

Now I just back off. If their attitude towards me changes in the future, I am then open to trying to repair/resume the relationship. At least usually. Some things I don’t continue to try to repair/resume basis. It is an ad hoc decision. Does anyone else know what I mean?

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Friendship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

