Contemplating my mission for the next year of my life…

Well, today I celebrate my birthday. What a year it has been. The passage of time makes me reflect on what is behind me and what lies ahead. In the last year, my mom died. So this next year, I am pondering….what should my theme and mission be?

Certainly, I have prayed upon that. I wonder what God has in store for me? My mom and I used to discuss that at length. I know she would tell me to step forward boldly and that God is with me always and all ways.

She was well aware of my tendency to over analyze things and to be too self critical. So here is the thing. If I had a theme song for each year, I could provide a list. Some of my favorites would include: What a Wonderful World (Louis Armstrong); Those Were the Days My Friend; Circle Game; You’ve Got a Friend; Somewhere Over the Rainbow; Forever Young; I Will Survive; Amazing Grace; Tis a Gift to Be Simple; Irish Eyes Are Smiling;  How Great Thou Art; and so many more.

But this year, I cannot pick a song. I can’t pick one for the past year. I cannot decide what to pick for the next year. I usually have so many things to say to try and put encouraging words in my posts so that people can gain strength. I do not know how exactly to do that today. God strengthens me through it all. He provides people to encourage me. I am grateful for that. I would dearly love to gather my friends about me today, or any day for that matter.

I definitely need a theme and mission for the next year ~ it needs to be more than getting everything done on my massively overwhelming things to do list. Perhaps my mission and message needs to be to be attentive and mindful to what is TRULY important in life. Perhaps it is to reflect on what brings joy. Perhaps it means to rediscover what brings joy to my days. It conflicts at times with all that needs to get done.

I would imagine others have this push, pull in life. I feel like time is passing much too quickly. My days and evenings are far too task filled. BUT, I know that this next year is going to HAVE to contain BALANCE.

Today my wish for you is that there be some joy time or some quiet time or some time of peace.

Thank you for being here. My blogging has been far too sporadic. I appreciate you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Contemplating my mission for the next year of my life…

  1. BALANCE ….Now there is a mission.

  2. Kate, my goodness, I have missed you and your presence in the blogging world! I am so sorry about your Mom, but I know our God provides comfort and peace for you. Oh, dear friend, mission for what lies ahead… I know that perplexity all too well. Is it because as we age, we realize that time grows short? Yet there is still much to do, isn’t there? I’m saying a prayer right now for you to find that balance and know what the Lord is asking you to do. Be blessed!

  3. Home's Cool! says:

    Helloooooo, Kate!
    So great to see your blog name in my inbox! Keep up the good work! 😀
    Love you!

  4. Sometimes balance is captured in present moment. Not the past, not the future, just being in the now moment.

  5. Kathy says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your mom. It’s a new normal that’s hard to get used to. Balance is something I struggle with as well and I’ve been thinking about it a lot these past few weeks. I think finding and maintaining balance is going to be my goal for the coming months.

    God Bless and Take Care.

Leave a Reply

