The Path I Took

It is said that we stand on the shoulders of the giants who preceded us. When I was a little girl, I planned to be a writer, business woman or teacher, wife, and mother. I had loads of great examples around me. My mom, grandmas, aunts, teachers  and friends’ moms encouraged me to learn, grow, and follow God always.

Our daughter was born with multiple birth defects and went through 8 major surgeries in her too brief life of 10 months.

As a result, when we adopted our son, every moment with him was so much more precious. I knew we are not guaranteed endless time with our children. I wanted to see him discover the world. I wanted to witness his first steps. I wanted him to know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that he matters and was loved beyond measure. I wanted to fill his bucket moments with love.

I have always known, but knew even more deeply after the death of my daughter, that every moment of our lives is a precious bucket moment. My time with my son has been precious,  there is no doubt about that.

The path I took has meant that I have indeed seen him discover life, the world, friendshio, knowledge, joy, heartache, and all the wondrous stuff of life.

When I was in high school and college, I had plans to be a bigshot CEO. I was going to be impressive, maybe even famous. It was the I am woman, hear me roar era.

But you see, my dreams changed. I decided to marry and hoped to have many children. God had other plans. And I know there are all kinds of women whi have career and motherhood.

He gave us a daughter for a brief while. We have a son. I lost two other children in pregnancy. I just wasn’t going to do career and motherhood. I wanted to be home with my son.

I have the privilege of being a mom to my son. I am not perfect, by any means. I have taught him what I know of the world. I have shown him how to seek God’s path. I have tried to show him how precious life is and that he is loved. Does he understand that in his soul? He doesn’t completely,  but do any of us?

I guess I am feeling reflective today. My birthday is Monday. It makes me want to rate my own strengths and weaknesses. I believe we do the best we can. I believe I have many shortcomings to work on. But I have made progress. Those who know me well are fully aware of my shortcomings, that is a fact.

So today, think about the fact that each moment of our lives can be a bucket moment. Make today special somehow. What goes in your bucket?

You are special. Joy is on the other side of pain, sorrow, and weeping.  Don’t quit before the miracles.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Path I Took

  1. Kate, what a poignant post. I’ve missed you and your wisdom and grace here in the blogging world. I too was going to be a career woman and had decided I didn’t want children because my career would be the most important thing. Oh, those I am woman hear me roar days we came of age in!! But I met my happily ever after to be husband, married, and became (willingly) the mother of my three and now a grandmother. It’s the best career change I ever made. And yes, each moment we have in our buckets is precious. Be blessed, my friend. And Happy Birthday!

  2. Mary Egan says:

    Kate, thanks for your post. You are a great mother. Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

