Unchartered territory for me: new mindfulness

1451471_674100525957711_328178786_nsmalleststep

Gosh it is Saturday already! Yesterday was my birthday… it was wonderful. If you missed my birthday post and want to see it, the link is right here. https://believeanyway.wordpress.com/2014/07/25/my-day-is-now-yup-its-my-birthday/

Oh how the years have flown by. It is likely that I have more years behind me than ahead of me. We never know how much time we have left. But with the latest milestone birthday, my awareness runs deep. As a result, I am more aware than ever that I should be mindful of how I spend my time.

I don’t just mean my lists of “things to do”. I mean working towards living a life without regret. I mean making the most of each day. I no longer want to let myself make the excuse that I was “too busy to pray or to spend time with a friend or exercise or see the sunrise and sunset”.

As I see it, each day is a brand new gift from God. I was wide awake in the middle of the night, so I decided to just get up and write this post. If you are feeling stressed or worried today or tonight, know that my prayers are with you. I am praying this evening for those who feel worn out, or down, or under the weather, or worried. Answers and direction will come to you. I seek answers and direction, too. I think we all do. I want to travel the road of life with renewed purpose.

JoniCarolinaBeachPier

I am itching for new challenges and I will find them. In the meantime, I will prepare for the school year which begins by 8/5 for almost all of my students. Between now and the fall semester, there are lessons to prepare, of course. But there are also will be time for fun and relaxation. I will be sure of that!

Next week I will see some old friends who are in town for a visit, what a blessing. Mid-week I will get together for coffee with dear Bridget…(one of the finest ya-yas). I will be re-focusing on some projects that have been set aside. Each day I will focus on mind, body, spirit, and heart. By doing that, I will be nourished and I will have the strength to feed others’ spirits as well.

DanceTheTides

So many opportunities are placed in our lives each day. We are given opportunities to reach out to others. We are given the chance to get some things done each day. We are provided the chance to both receive and give wisdom. We have more to give than we realize. You know this is true because there have been times in your life when someone does some little thing for you that means SO much. It warms your heart, not just at that moment, but years later when you stop and think about that small thing.

So today I hope to use God’s moments, life’s moments, to be mindful. I also will be gentle with myself instead of harsh. After all, I am special to God, too. If I insist on being compassionate with my students in order to give them strength for THEIR journeys, I must do the same with myself. Remember, you have SO much to offer. You are a treasure, a precious jewel. As you ponder the upcoming week, what would you to be sure to do with that week if you knew it was going to be one of your last weeks? Even if you have 100 years left, what ways can you spend your time that will make you feel peaceful and joyous? Of course the road ahead could be difficult and arduous! But you will not travel alone!

difficultRoads

3671331-hiking-scene

 

In the past few weeks, I have joined some local community groups online. It has been a heartwarming way to make new connections in the community. As a result, I am determined to spend time with the friends I already have in the community as well. Funny how that works. Just when you wonder if you are a bit alone in the world, God floods you with kind people.

 

 

 

 

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, Family Life and Issues, Friendship, God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Unchartered territory for me: new mindfulness

  1. Debbie says:

    What an encouraging post for us, no matter where we are at. I love seeing His faithfulness in each day, come what may. God bless you as you are mindful of the gift of this day!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      don’t you just love the word “mindful”. It is ever so much more than careful. It is a focused yet gentle awareness. I hope that your day is a blessed one and that you are surrounded by lovely reminders of His faithfulness. Thanks for stopping by, and thanks for your kind words.-kate

  2. pattie says:

    Miss you…. Hope you had a wonderful birthday and wishing you an incredible year!!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      i miss you SOOO much. I really wish we still lived in the same neighborhood…what a lovely time that was. they are days i cherish and treasure….we need to talk a lot more often!

  3. Thank you for your prayers and beautiful words. I need them as I’m anxious about the upcoming school year. My prayers are for you, too, Kate.

  4. As we continue our journey, no matter where it may take us, isn’t it so comforting and exciting too that we don’t travel alone? I’ve also really enjoyed my little online community group that I’m co-leading. Blessings to be found everywhere we look, but we have to be willing to look and reach out. Loved your post, Kate. Onward and upward we go!

  5. Kate Kresse says:

    you are so right. it is so good that we do not travel alone. not for one single step. i am so glad your online group is going well. i hope that i can be a part of the next session. when can i sign up??

Leave a Reply

