What are you dreaming of today?

480100_467087326648956_225187066_n

I have been feeling reflective. Of course, as my regular tutoring schedule evolves into my summer tutoring schedule, I often do feel reflective. But this year I have been feeling even more reflective than usual. My birthday is in the summer. This year will be one of those milestone birthdays. So it is fitting that I am taking stock of my life.

I think back on what my hopes and dreams were over the years, and ponder about what they are/should be now. When I was little, I planned to be a writer and a teacher. When I got to college, I planned to become a high school English teacher. However, once I was at college, I decided to major in business. Women were making new inroads in the business world, and I was SO excited about being part of that.

I ended up working in the computer industry for  years, (and I really loved it) and then went back to school to earn my MBA. After that, I worked in the computer industry again, but left that behind to be home for my children. One of my children died in infancy, and I became very determined not to miss a minute of my son’s childhood.

Once he was launched into college, I began to tutor. When he was a baby I published my 1st book. When he was in college, I started my blog. So there you go, a teacher and a writer. At all the aforementioned stages of my life, it felt like a good fit. But as I ponder the next part of my life, I am trying to pray on things and ponder. I do not just want to decide the next chapters on an ad hoc basis. I seek guidance from my Captain, my Shepherd. He knows my heart and gifts better than anyone.

MapAndCompass

My heart is open. My mind is brimming with ideas. I am praying for guidance. Are you at a watershed time in your life. Are you wondering if you need to make some changes? I am considering what the next phase of my life should include. I ask myself “what are my dreams”? What are yours? What is your heart’s desire ~ have you prayed about it?

I hope your week is going well!

 

 

 

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What are you dreaming of today?

  1. auntyuta says:

    Thanks Kate, my week is going as well as can be expected in the midst of an Australian winter. I wish you all the best for your upcoming special birthday! 🙂

  2. As usual, we are walking parallel with each other. I too wanted to be an English teacher – tried that, left it, moved on to journalism and technical editing, then full-time mommy-ing. And now that I’ve left my long-time part-time job in a ministry and hitting that milestone birthday, I too have been contemplating big dreams too. I’m praying for guidance as well. 🙂

  3. Kate Kresse says:

    i definitely want to join

Leave a Reply

