Let it shine

Whether you feel drained or energized, you can give. What can you give? You can give your love, faith, belief in others, hope, steadfastness. Ella Baker said, “Give light and people will find the way.”. Jesus tells us not to hide our light under a bushel.

the sunlight or the Son-light...it lights our way

the sunlight or the Son-light…it lights our way

In the musical Godspell, they sing “if that light is under a bushel, it has lost something kind of crucial”. My point is this. If we let our light shine (even if it is flickering oh-so-weakly) it can light the path for others. In so doing, we are strengthened.

Believe me, I know there are always folks who seek to extinguish our flame. They attempt to suck the heart, oxygen, and will to be joyful right out of us. But just as God will always triumph over evil, so too can commitment to walk in His light rekindle our flame and the flame of others. Do you remember the song “This little light of mine”? We sang that at a candlelight prayer service during my freshman orientation at college. The memory of it, and the hope I felt that evening, can strengthen me during difficult times. My mama always tells me that it is better to light a candle than to curse the darkness. She (of course) is so right.

Now this music clip from Youtube is from Godspell. It makes me smile and dance a bit. It puts stuff in perspective. If you are feeling stressed, down, or hopeful, I hope it will add love to your day! Your goodness WILL outlast the diminishers in your world. The Shepherd will see to it.

 

 

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, God, Positive Thinking, Scripture and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Let it shine

  1. Have you seen the play, Kate? We saw it in college when it first came out, then took our kids to it when it was released for amateur production on its 20th anniversary, and then, here lately for it’s 40th we took a grandson to see it on his birthday. We have the original recording on vinyl. Showing our age.
    And I’m feeling it, today. Tired from being old and not sleeping well. But you are right–I can still shine…

    • Abbey says:

      Thank you for this article. I firmly believe that we all have the ability to share the Light of Christ that is within us by seeking to be happy in this Life. Check out this article on finding Happiness in this life, and “Letting our light shine.” Let me know what you think! http://www.reallifeanswers.org/purpose-of-life/finding-happiness/

    • Kate Kresse says:

      they put it on one year when i was in college, and i saw it then. Then a couple of years later, one of my brothers was in it at his high school. so of course i saw it then, and then the year after that they put it on at the Newman Center at Ohio State University, and I worked on the crew. Loved the show, and the record album. It is on Broadway again (in their never ending everything old is new again productions mindset)! Of course, I have never been to NYC nor seen a Broadway show. Love the music from this show.

  2. Oh goodness — what a blast from the past! Like your reader above, Katherine, we too still have the original recording on vinyl…yep, we’re showing our age a bit! 😉

Leave a Reply

