Courage to honor your soul

What do we draw upon when we are torn in numerous directions. We have each been there before, and will be again. You see, if our consciences and character have been properly formed, and we know God’s commands, then we know what we are called by Him to do, and what we are commanded by Him not to do.

Yet at times, we feel torn. Sometimes we admit we feel torn, and we feel all upset internally. Other times, our wishes or desires pull us in a direction contrary to God’s wishes/commands. What then? I mean this wish or desire that seems so lovely ~ how can it be wrong? Well, it can. The timing can be off. It can be at a time different from how God wants it. Yet we want it anyway.

What are we to do when faced with these situations. To many of us, it sounds so glib and over-simplified to say “just do what God commands”. We protest, well it isn’t that easy. but the narrow gate is our calling.

The question at those times becomes, do we have the courage to honor God by trusting His commands? By doing that, we honor our soul and the soul of the other person. To do less really means that you are saying you (and your soul) and the other person (and that person’s soul) are not worth that much — that they aren’t worth waiting, that they aren’t worth the sacrifice. You settle for less than God’s beautiful commands and timing. Why would we do that? Ah~ it just seems to be so lovely to walk an easier path.

But God wants the BEST for us. The BEST. Do we want the BEST for each other? I cherish the people who trust God’s timing and His commands. I TRUST the ones who do not expect me to compromise my walk with God ~ for anything. Oh boy do I cherish and trust them.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

