Feeling afraid or lost today?

Are you overwhelmed by circumstances or happenstances today? Is it hard to quiet your racing mind? Believe me, I have been there frequently. We can get so wrapped up in what has to be done that we cannot move. Remember this lovely verse from Psalms: ““Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” (Psalm 46:10)

You see, feeling overwhelmed or bogged down is a feeling that has been around for quite awhile! Normally at this time of year I am in “freak out” mode. My students have final exams in a few weeks. In the meantime, they have tons of homework, tests, quizzes, and projects. But I am filled with peace, knowing that I will not journey alone throughout these next few weeks. That is a relief!

I lift my eyes to the mountains from whence cometh my help

I lift my eyes to the mountains from whence cometh my help

I leave you with this poem, which I came across today. Perhaps the verse from Psalms, the photo of the mountain, and the poem will help restore your peace of mind and heart today. God bless you today and always.

gorgeousgilbertsunset.jpg

QUIET THINGS ~ By Grace Noll Crowell

These I have loved with passion, loved them long:
The house that stands when the building hammers cease,
After wild syncopation, a sane song,
A tree that straightens after the winds’ release,
The cool green stillness of an April wood,
A silver pool, unruffled by the breeze,
The clean expanse of a prairie’s solitude,
And calm, unhurried hours– I love these.

I have been tangled in the nets too long;
I shall escape and find my way again
Back to the quiet place where I belong,
Far from the tinseled provinces of men.
These will be waiting after my release:
The sheltered ways, the quiet ways of peace.

 

You see ~ if you can find that rhythm ~ of God’s breath in you, you can be one with His heart and pace. The frenetic energy-draining pace can be replaced with blessed assurance.

This day and each day ~ even in difficult times, believe anyway.

 

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, God, Scripture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Feeling afraid or lost today?

  1. You always inspire me Kate. Thank-you. All the best to you. 🙂

  2. Gorgeous poem. Much-needed reflections. Thanks! We are a bit ruffled-feeling, here, expecting two more nights of twisty-skies, as we fondly call our spring weather…hard to sleep when you might get blown away–hard to stay awake when it’s plainly bedtime…best just to trust.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      It is best just to trust. I remember tornadoes and tornado sirens from our years in the Midwest. They came through so often!! May God hold you all in the hollow of His hand this day. ❤

      • Thanks. The hardest fatalities for me are of people who were just visiting…

        • Kate Kresse says:

          they are still in my prayers…

          • Thanks, Kate. It is still a mess up there, and we have them all on our prayer lists, too. One woman I heard of had just moved here with her family. Her husband was badly injured and she was living in the hospital due to the home being blown away. She knew no one around her and could not even find a WalMart in Little Rock, due to being so new there. Besides, she had no car. It was just horrible for her. A few ladies I know got together and gathered clothing for her and her son, gave her some gift cards, and connected her with various help projects that would just take her places like to the insurance office to get started on buying a replacement vehicle. So many things we don’t realize such as you cannot change clothing, brush your teeth, recharge your phone, receive mail…the list is endless.
            And if someone gives you clothing, toothbrush, recharger, or a mailbox, where would you put it, with no house?

  3. However, the one family that lost house,family business, Dad, and 2 sisters…Did get the CD backup of their family photos back. Someone found it lying in a field somewhere and returned it. I’m sure it is totally wonderful to have that.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I bet that really meant a lot to them. To at least have their family photos back gives them some of their history.

      • Yes, I’m sure it was like manna from heaven, almost literally. They will have money for a while, but you know folks forget…Our church sent them a donation, as have many, many people. In the end, though, she is a single mom of five, now, and needs a big home for little money, needs a job outside the home (her older daughters I am sure can continue with home schooling the babes) and they did have injuries, so needs just prayer for healing and trauma and many other things. Whatever you imagine, just pray for it, since there is not one single earthly thing left to them except that one CD of photos. ❤

Leave a Reply

