The longer I live, the more beautiful life becomes

William James wrote “Act as if what you do makes a difference. It does“. I typically use a lot of words when I speak and when I write. I am much more Steinbeck than Hemingway. There are times when someone writes or speaks with just a few words that really speaks volumes. William James’ quotes is one of those times. I have written about this quote before.

We may feel insignificant next to people who do big and amazing things. But our own little lives have impact. The pebbles of our lives create ripples, you know they do. Tiny things we do or say may seem inconsequential to us at the time. Yet those moments may mean so much to others. I believe we instinctively know that. I believe our lives are proof of that. I believe our blogs are living proof of that as well. We do make a difference. I know I learn amazing things reading people’s blogs. I grow and add dimension to my thoughts and heart, to my prayers, hopes, and dreams—just from reading what you have to say and what you comment. I experience the same thing when I tour a botanical garden, a museum, or an exhibit of some kind. It lifts my heart and mind.

The challenges of life sometimes are like fast moving rapids. We get a little queasy and frightened when the waters move fast and the obstacles seem huge. But we make it through. Act as if you have courage;  know that God will see you through it all. So maybe the big rocks in the photo below are not obstacles at all. Maybe they are stepping stones to help us cross the river. I know, upon reflection, that there are many, many people that have and continue to be stepping stones, oases, that help me through the rough waters.  And the things they do make a difference. The things we each do make such a difference. I hope you know today, that as you write (whether blog or comments)—your words reach people. It matters. You matter. Your thoughts, words, photos, creations, they matter. They matter deeply.

We share our lives, we share our joys and sorrows, we share our triumphs and tragedies.  What we do make a difference. I am grateful to engineers and computer gurus who have made so much of this possible. Today I was thinking about all of this.

Over the weekend we went and saw an exhibit of small dwellings. It was called micro dwellings. Here is the web site for it  http://www.microdwelling.net/These were houses, and little places that were small square footage— one was about 120 sq. One was a large shipping container that had been converted to a small house. It was fascinating. Of course, it made me think about “minimalist living”. It left me awestruck to consider all the different concepts that the builders/architects/designers developed.

here is a photo of one of them

and here is the link to the exhibit’s photo gallery http://www.microdwelling.net/2012-gallery/

Keep communicating. …Frank Lloyd Wright said “The longer I live, the more beautiful life becomes“. Oh Amen…life is beautiful; so much beauty and inspiration surrounds me each day…. and here is a photo from Taliesin West which is in the Phoenix area, too.

“all things great and small, the Lord God made them all”

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, Heartwarming or humorous stories, Nature, Positive Thinking, technology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The longer I live, the more beautiful life becomes

  1. cobbies69 says:

    With what has happened to me in the past months and now looking at life so differently and hope to change my outlook and attitude and of course not take life for granted, especially after realising ones vulnerability, this post means so much. 😉 Thanks for share.

Leave a Reply

