Auld lang syne and baby new year

“Should auld acquaintance be forgot and never brought to mind”

Here we are at the end of 2013. The big year that loomed ahead of us in gigantic fashion a year ago is a wee tiny thing now. It is wee tiny because we now only have today. In reality, of course, we always only have today. Life has carved new pathways in my heart this year. Each of those pathways has a story. This has been a year of storytelling and memory building.

I wonder as I contemplate 2014, what lies ahead? Will there be new joyous times? Will there be times of heartache? Will I accomplish what I hope to accomplish? Will I leave footprints on the beaches of my life this year? I sure do hope so. It is such a gift to be able to create new memories and start new stories.

This next year will provide many chances to pass torches of love to those I encounter. For me, life is about spreading God’s light, in a darkened world. People need hope and reassurance. I plan to be one of God’s little beacons. As one of God’s little beacons, you may encounter people who basically think you are worthless, or insignificant. They prefer the more spectacular lighthouses. Does that make you worthless? Well, no, not really. Although it may make you feel worthless, you are not worthless. You don’t fill their needs.

However, other people may delight in your little beacon of light. The Lord of light has a purpose for your light. Our lights guide each other home to Him. Think about the little twinkly lights on your house or your Christmas tree. If each of those was the size of a huge spotlight, we wouldn’t see the tree at all. It wouldn’t be beautiful, just overpowering. So if you are feeling like a tiny twinkly Christmas light remember that you are one on an interconnected string of lights. Together we encircle those who need love. We reach more people than we realize with our lives of love.

Those who find you to be “beneath them” are missing out on something very important. They are missing out on the chance to be connected to the love that only you can provide. Yes, they have other people in their lives, but only you have your own unique combination of gifts. Keep on shining, my sparkly friends. As you begin the new year, and as you put away your strings of sparkly, twinkly lights, know that without your sparkle, the string fizzles out, and may not light at all. So each of us, with our own little lives, brings that string to life. God’s graces work through each of us.

I appreciate and treasure everyone who has stopped by my blog. I have been a very irregular writer this year. I thank you for returning to read my words. I hope to be my inspired in 2014 ~ and to post far more frequently. Goodbye to 2013 ~ and welcome 2014. We embrace the promises of a new year.

Kates December 2011 photos 025

 

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Auld lang syne and baby new year

  1. Caddo says:

    Happy New Year to you and your family–love, sis Caddo

  2. Happy New Year, Kate! Be blessed.

Leave a Reply

