Time flies faster than I can spend it!

This year was quite the whirlwind. I spent a lot of time tutoring and working. I had more than my share of blessings. I got to attend a reunion I dreamed of for decades. I got to touch base with people from my childhood. That was a very good thing. You see, as time marches on, we can tend to exaggerate the closeness of friendships that have moved to the back burner. When you relocate many times, you can begin to wonder whether or not you were as close of friends as you thought. Delightfully, I discovered that those childhood friends were even better than I recalled.

That was a blessing so deep, sublime, and restorative that it is nearly indescribable. It served as a tonic at a much needed time in my life. You go through things that make you seriously question where you fit in in the world. You go through things that are setbacks and make you suddenly aware that you don’t fit in where you thought you did. It makes you question whether you have value. But of course, God then sends reminders ~ which in turn bring true balance back to your life.

God is like that in my life. You see, with losses come brand new blessings, which heal woundedness. Does that happen with you? In subsequent months there have been new losses, which no doubt means there are blessings RIGHT around the corner. That knowledge keeps me on steady legs. He strengthens me, even when events of the world bring me to my knees. He then sends people who inspire me and make me laugh. We dust off and run up the next hill, laughing, skipping, hugging, and more.

Over and over again this year, there have been ups and downs, and ups once again. My workload doubled, and I discovered new ways to help students. I discovered new ways to eke a few more hours out of each day. Scripture reading and prayer helped bring me strength.

God brings healing to broken hearts. He sends just the right messages and people to your little corner of the world. He does. And so the year flies by– and the days dwindle to a precious few. I rejoice. I rejoice because of the year that is almost over.  I know that the next year will bring some new things, and some more of the same things. I rejoice that I am here. I rejoice that new days are before me~ with the chance to bring compassion and joy to others. I am blessed. As sorrow touches our days ~ we reach out for comfort. We are blessed by those who “get it”. As joy touches our days ~ we reach out to spread it. Our joy deepens as we share it.

The community we build with our lives gives us joy. May your day be blessed with comfort and joy.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Time flies faster than I can spend it!

  1. Caddo says:

    “Blessings right around the corner”–5 grace words of hope for me today–thanks Kate, have a blessed New Year–love, sis Caddo

  2. auntyuta says:

    Dear Kate, you touch on so many things in your post

    • auntyuta says:

      (I did not mean to send it off already, just one of these things where the computer does what it likes.)
      I meant to say, dear Kate, that what you write about is very touching indeed and full of meaning. You mention things that in the end are important to all of us, only often we may perhaps not realise it.
      May your life continue to be blessed with a lot of comfort and joy.
      My very Best Wishes for a HAPPY NEW YEAR for you and your Family.

  3. Mike Fisk says:

    Great words to consider as we move into the new year. Thanks Kate! Happy New Year!

  4. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Have a Happy New Year filled with blessings Kate!

Leave a Reply

