To give up enthusiasm wrinkles the soul

Today many of us will be rushing about. I wanted to share a poem with you today. I hope you like it!

Youth ~ by Samuel Ullman

Youth is not a time of life–it is a state of mind. It is not a matter
of red cheeks, red lips and supple knees. It is a temper of the will;
a quality of the imagination; a vigor of the emotions; it is a freshness
of the deep springs of life. Youth means a temperamental predomi-
nation of courage over timidity, of the appetite for adventure over a 
life of ease. This often exists in a man of fifty, more than in a boy of
twenty. Nobody grows old by merely living a number of years; people 
grow old by deserting their ideals.

Years may wrinkle the skin, but to give up enthusiasm wrinkles the
soul. Worry, doubt, self-distrust, fear and despair — these are the long,
long years that bow the head and turn the growing spirit back to dust.

Whether seventy or sixteen, there is in every being’s heart a love of
wonder; the sweet amazement at the stars and starlike things and
thoughts; the undaunted challenge of events, the unfailing, childlike
appetite for what comes next, and the joy in the game of life.

You are as young as your faith, as old as your doubt; as young as
your self-confidence, as old as your fear; as young as your hope, as
old as your despair.

In the central place of your heart there is a wireless station. So long
as it receives message of beauty, hope, cheer, grandeur, courage and
power from the earth, from men and from the Infinite–so long are
you young. When the wires are all down and the central places of
your heart are covered with the snows of pessimism and the ice of
 cynicism, then you are grown old, indeed!

Now I think that poem is, as my dad used to say, “the bee’s knees”. Do I prefer to be as young as my hope or as old as my despair? It is in the shaking off of the despair and the cynicism that we claim or reclaim joy. I wish you messages of hope, beauty, courage today. No matter what, we shall climb our mountains. I hear that the view from the mountaintop is spectacular.

 

 

 

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, Positive Thinking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to To give up enthusiasm wrinkles the soul

  1. This is beautiful and a much needed message today. Cynicism falls like rain. We need umbrellas of hope. May I reblog?

  2. Caddo says:

    I’m grateful to have discovered and learned joyful enthusiasm late in life–it makes all the humiliations of getting older alone quite do-able!! And, I’m not rushing anywhere today–I have a kitchen full of dishes/pots to wash; other than that, I’ll be flaked out on the couch!! God bless you BIG–love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      i agree!! no longer longing for being in my twenties, that’s for sure! All the joys of wisdom and experiences….couch collapse sounds perfect! along with turkey leftovers.

  3. Reblogged this on Lillie-Put and commented:
    I loved these thoughts shared by Kate. We need to spark our own inner children again!

  4. lillianl17 says:

    Reblogged this on Growing Up, God, and Being Busy and commented:
    Really love this!!

  5. Loved this, Kate! Thanks for it! ❤
    And you changed your by-line. And it's snowing here! 😉

Leave a Reply

