Thankful for my husband

My husband totally rocks. We have been married for 30 years already. He is a lighthouse, a rudder, a shining beacon. His faith is strong, his love for me is constant. He is faithful and steadfast. He is funny, bright, fascinating, loving, and a joy. I am truly blessed. Today it is fitting that we celebrate Thanksgiving. It is a special Thanksgiving, because today is his birthday as well. How delightful that I can celebrate his day on this day. Happy birthday, dear Jim. I love you with all my heart.

I celebrate his devotion, his hard work, his laughter, and his love. Our faith, and our love for each other, and our devotion to each other and God make our home a piece of heaven. God sustains us. Today, I am overflowing with thanksgiving, for the gift that my husband is to me, every single day.

Some years we travel for Thanksgiving–typically to see his family. I have so many happy memories of those Thanksgivings—preparing the food with my dear sister-in-law Jayne. We always play “Alice’s Restaurant” at some point. The perfect Thanksgiving fun song. The clan is always wandering through, the laughter of our children rising above everything. I will truly miss being with Jayne. This year we will visit them via phone. We will be here, they will be there. But our hearts are forever entwined. She will be hosting the Chicago people, she always does!

I will be rejoicing in the togetherness of the 3 of us, here in a place called home. Happy Thanksgiving ~

As for us, we will be home; in my home of lov.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Family Life and Issues and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thankful for my husband

  1. MJ says:

    How lovely and heartfelt! Thinking of the three of you right now. We will be with Scott, Maureen and Jack today.

  2. Happy Thanksgiving and many happy returns to your gift-given husband.

  3. Jayne says:

    Kate!!! Happy Thankgiving to you and Josh, and Happy Thanksbirthukkah to Jim. 😉 If anyone deserves to be around for the next one (in 79k years or so), It would be him. Have a great day – much love from the frozen flatlands! Although I wish you were here, I hope you all have “Thanksgiving that couldn’t be beat” there!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Happy Thanksgiving Jayne!! Love you and the family. Dinner’s cooking, pies are made. Already played Alice’s Restaurant~ as is our wont! In my mind I am dancing around your kitchen, and peeling potatoes! Talk to you soon.

  4. Caddo says:

    You’re very blessed indeed, Kate. Happy Thanksgiving to you all.

  5. Lots of x’s and o’s to you both. ❤

  6. Beautiful post Kate. I am so happy for you and your Jim to be so caring and in love for many years. I also am blessed with my Jim going on 44 years. What a treasure!! I thank God every single day for the love my Man and I share. Amazing my friend. Big hugs and always the best for you. ♥ Renee

Leave a Reply

