Thankfulness

As we zoom towards Thanksgiving Day, I find myself grateful for so much. I am thankful for my loved ones. I am thankful for my home, my job, my life. I am thankful for my students.

“I thank Thee for a daily task to do,
For books that are my ships with golden wings,
For mighty gifts let others offer praise–
Lord, I am thanking Thee for little things.” ~ Anonymous

Of course, whenever I think of Thanksgiving, I think of days gone by and days yet to come. I think of past gatherings in happy times. I think of my paternal grandparents ~ we celebrated their wedding anniversary on Thanksgiving Day. I think of gatherings with extended family ` loud and crazy times. I think of quiet Thanksgivings with just the 3 of us. I think of my dad waking me up on thanksgiving morning, urging me to come downstairs, help with the food preparations and see the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade.

I think of how grateful I am for the breaths I take, and the joy to be found. I think of the grieving times, and times of loss. As with each of you, some years are full of those times. Other years are full of joyous times. Still others are a mixture.

But boy, some years just speed by. In those years (like this one), I say — oh the year has gone by so fast. My list of things to do is SO long. But I am grateful. I am thankful.

“Wait, thou child of hope, for Time shall teach thee all things”. ~ Martin Farquhar Tupper.

I thought that was fitting. I am a child of hope ~ I am a perennial optimist. Hope restores my soul. I hope in God ~ and lean on His promises. I don’t lean on politicians’ promises. They are often an illusion. Instead, I know this: love prevails. It doesn’t mean I won’t have suffering and loss. It doesn’t mean I won’t be hurt or have sorrow. It does mean that my faith will help me get back up each and every time that life knocks me to the mat. Yup. I must keep moving forward. I am thankful that I know that I must. I am thankful for each and every person’s kindness that helps me keep moving forward. Their kindnesses are the balm that heals the wounds of life. I am grateful. I am thankful.

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, Family Life and Issues, Friendship and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thankfulness

  1. Wishing you a most blessed Thanksgiving, Kate. Still praying for that healing balm over you. 🙂

  2. Caddo says:

    This is so, so GOOD, Kate–every word. God bless you as you celebrate the Day of Thanksgiving–much love, sis Caddo

Leave a Reply

