Are you worried?

“Don’t tell God how Big your storm is, tell the Storm how Big your God is”

Indeed, God is bigger than any of our storms. Love overcomes all. That is not to say that God, or love, or those who love us will ensure that we always have our way. I think that we can each imagine being in that boat on the stormy lake and filled with fear.  We, too, would scream for Jesus to save us. In today’s vernacular, perhaps Jesus would look at us tenderly and yet with some exasperation. Perhaps He would hold up His hands to stop the storms and say to us  “Dudes!It’s all good!”

I like to think of Him speaking us in today’s language sometimes. St Paul tells us that “nothing is impossible for God”. So holding onto our faith during the storms will help us stay tuned in to the channel He wants open all the time. That channel is God station “G”R”A”C”E”.  May His gentle reminders keep our ears listening to Him. Be brave, have courage under stress: He is our emergency broadcast system; our storm shelter; our boat and our helicopter; He is our everything. He was, is, and ever shall be, bigger than our storms in life.

So I ask you, what lies ahead? What is stressing you out or overwhelming you? Are you worried? I know when I was going through a period of grief following a loss, the counselor told us something in our grief group. she said to set aside a specific period of time each day to grieve. Let’s say, for example you decide to devote an hour to it, and you even schedule it. Then, at other times during the day you can say, “I will deal with that and dwell on it at 7 o’clock”. For some reason, that was extraordinarily helpful. For one thing, in the in-between times, I would just hand it off to God, the best I could.

By doing that, grief and worry did not overwhelm me nearly as much as it had been. “Cast all your anxiety upon Him because He cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:7. So if worry and stress is weighing you down, He will always see you through it. Always.

If you are torn up because someone has hurt you, or if you are worried that the sorrow will never end, know that God will see you through it. Hang in there, and know this: someone is praying for you, and you are not alone.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Are you worried?

  1. Good stuff, here, Kate! 🙂 Sorry I’ve been gone so much…

    This reminds me of a counselor who said, “Will I let my problems make me turn my back on my God? OR Will I let my God make me turn my back on my problems?”

    Thanks for this post! ❤ K

  2. Caddo says:

    Beautiful, beautiful words of grace and comfort, Kate. God bless you BIG!

  3. Just what I needed to read today, Kate! I am torn up with deep hurt (from other believers, which is the worst kind of hurt I think). I’ve been working my way through with God’s help but I really like the idea of setting aside a time to “deal.” Makes good sense!

Leave a Reply

