Which people feed your spirit? What nourishes you?

I am hoping that you have people who feed your spirit. You know the type of people I mean. I am talking about people who rejoice with you. I am talking about those who taste salt when you weep. I am talking about those who laugh at your jokes, rejoice in your good news, are never demeaning or dismissive. Do you have friends and or relatives like that? If you do, hooray and huzzah. Those are the kinds of friends and relations that I love the best. You see, those are the ones who cherish you, and you them.

I am filled with gratitude to have these people. When I am beleaguered, worn down, or feeling left out or just plain not valued, these are the people who see me through it. Their kindness, empathy, and love restore me. They build me up all over again. They help me to remember that I have worth. They help me see myself through their eyes, instead of my own overly critical eyes. Gosh, we all need people like that. For it is through their kindness, and God’s love and loving example, that we learn to be better people.

When my spirit is malnourished, I am fed and restored. When I am restored, I have the strength to feed others. When they are fed, they are restored and have the strength to feed others. Through the linkages of life, we love. The restoration reduces the powers of the bullies and the ones who roll their eyes at people or the ones who exclude people. If we each could try each day to restore someone, and go to the Shepherd who restores, the world would become a brighter and better place.

I pray that today, and all weekend long, you are fed, nourished, and restored. Be blessed.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Bullying, faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Which people feed your spirit? What nourishes you?

  1. cobbies69 says:

    I so wish this were true with me… 😉

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Kate, like you I am blessed with enough lovely people to tip the balance the right way 🙂 Blessings dear lady.

  3. Caddo says:

    I have to say that I’d drown were it not for the folks I’ve met on the blogs–we don’t all have up close and personal fan clubs or family; but God is GOOD, He provides–who’d a thunk He’d be so high-tech as to invent the Internet???! Wowza, if Noah could see us now!! God bless you BIG, Kate–love, sis Caddo

  4. Oh Kate, like you say, “Horray and huzzah”, I am thrilled to have you cross my path in life. Thank-you. You are amazing. Have a fantabulous weekend. Thanks just for being ‘you’. I love that word, “Huzzah”. 🙂 ♥

  5. So very True Kate , we all need encouragement and we all need someone to help carry our burden and yes as you shared to even cry with us and rejoice too but we don’t need the input although we still love them of those who point out our weaknesses and shortcomings , they have their own, even if the plank in their eye blurs their vision of them.

    We also need Truth in friendship not apathy or agreement with the wrong we do, a few of my friends in obedience to God and in Love for Love, rebuked me when I fell into sin but not away, for sure I was not impressed at the time but my Love and respect for them now is very great, they risked my friendship to warn me I was in danger because they Loved me enough to do so.

    God’s Truth corrects error, are we willing to share it and obey it ourselves, or do we just want Saccharin sweet platitudes that will eventually leave a bitter taste.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    • Kate Kresse says:

      so very true, Anne. Truth is essential, and must be done in love. But cruel put downs, and put downs in a public setting, meant to minimize the other person and done to make the speaker feel he is “lording it over” the other is a far different thing. A true friend DOES help you get back on the right path. A true friend celebrates when you are walking in goodness, and rejoices in your joy. Christian love to you as well. I am glad that you have folks in your life that are exactly the kinds of true friends our Lord desires for each of us.

      • I agree with you 100% Kate, correction is always about Love but sometimes as God’s guidelines tell us, it is also necessary when needed to rebuke publicly those in the Church who continue to sin but there is a order we follow and once again it is for Love and in Love.

        We go to them privately and warn them of the wrong they are doing, like my friends did with me , but we keep in mind that we too were once deep in sin and thankfully we were rescued by the Grace and Mercy of God, He forgave us when we had heart repentance, so we understand how sin is a bondage but we know in our heart that they have like us been set free as Jesus tells us and that no Temptation to sin will be greater then they can bear, Jesus is our Armour.

        But even after we have warned them and shared God’s Truth with them and confirmed it with the Scriptures which also tell us we need to put our flesh to death by the Holy Spirit, so we don’t sin and instead choose to turn from evil and do good, by His empowering which is what True repentance is all about. If they still choose to sin then we go to the Elders of our Church and if they still do not repent even after they have warned them, then the Elders expose them publicly to the Church. If they still continue to sin we no longer fellowship with them till they come to their senses and repent but we continue to pray for them as the Body of Christ.

        So many don’t read the Scriptures with understanding especially when this type of thing happens, they either ignore peoples sin thinking they should not judge but not understanding what this really means or they don’t care and some critically gossip and have no forgiveness just resentment to these people and some even put others down who do what what God asks us to do, we are all responsible in keeping the Church pure, we are The Body of Christ, His hands, arms, feet and voice.

        This is the same when people teach error we are to correct them in Love for Love we remember they may influence others to think and do what is wrong.

        Christian Love from us both – Anne

  6. What have you done Kate that you need to be rebuked for, are you sinning according to God’s guidelines, not man’s legalism. It’s good to share all of God’s Truth so we can Mature, He asks us to encourage each other with it. I welcome what others share in Truth, it is how I do my Devotions each day and I’m blessed when I share what Jesus leads me to share, as I learn this way too.

    Christian Love from us both- Anne

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I haven’t Anne. I am having a hard time understanding your point in this entire thread. My initial post was written to say that people who treat me with love and do not bully me are the people who bring me joy. It seems to me that is different than someone who vapidly agree with everything I do. That isn’t love. I see bullying as vastly different than people who try to correct you when you are on the wrong path. At the risk of sounding prideful, I do follow God, seek His counsel, and live as He wishes. Your repeated references to Christian love; correction, and folks not knowing the right way snd not realizing their shortcomings msde me think you were saying you thought I fell into thst category. I mistakenly thought you were correcting me snd thought I wasn’t saved and walking with my beloved Shepherd. Electronic communications sometimes limit my understanding of people’s meaning. I apologize.

  7. Why would I judge you Kate, especially about your Salvation, I don’t know your heart only God does. I just read my comments again, sorry I can’t see them as a put down but a help in understanding God’s guidelines on unlovingly judging others which is also what your message was about. My other point was when we Love others we warn them if they are in danger which was not directed at you personally.

    Since I have been Blogging I have had those who criticize me and put me down, even abuse me and delete my comments and than have blocked me, just because they didn’t believe in what I shared about God’s Truth but they had no confirmation of Scripture for what they believed, I always do, otherwise it is like being a builder without tools.

    We need to know ourselves we are people of worth to The Lord and then regardless of what others think, say and do, we are not put down, I find those who do this, gossip critically too because they feel less then people of worth, it’s their problem not ours.

    It’s True that I don’t always have short and sweet comments Kate, Blogging to me is not about me it’s about sharing God’s Truth, helping each other mature with the Light Jesus has given us, which uplifts and encourages when accepted in Love.

    Christian Love Always from both of us – Anne

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Yikes! I didn’t see anything remotely untruthful in what you wrote! Not one thing! I am grateful for your comments, and your Scriptural references. As I said, I misunderstood something.

Leave a Reply

