I was sworn in! “I shall uphold the Constitution; I shall defend”

I am one of those people who has spent a lifetime studying societal trends, working within the system, and trying to effect change. I did this in my career and my community involvements.   I come from a long line of involved people. I suppose that their lanterns lit my path, and that gave me great confidence.  Certainly at least as far back as my great-grandmothers and great grandfathers– my relatives effected change. When we see a need, we try to do something about it. This fine group — my very own extended family — truly affirms each other. I don’t mean occasionally. I mean ALL the time; they do it without fail. We are the wind beneath each other’s wings. We always have been, and I am 100% certain we always will be. You see, they are never joy takers, they are “affirm-ers”.

Through the hand wringing and screeching of the past few years on the internet, in the media, and in DC, there has been a lack of inspiration and cooperation. Instead we see tearing apart. In the rare instances when someone accomplishes something, ten others rush in to either minimize it, criticize it, or take credit for it. We can all see the bitter fruits that harvest has wrought. I see the behavior on both sides of the aisle. 

Last Wednesday, October 16th, the legislative branch of the federal government agreed to re-open the government and extend the debt ceiling for a few months. Hopefully they will work things out and make some progress. The president said ” “You don’t like a particular policy or a particular president? Then argue for your position. Go out there and win an election. Push to change it. But don’t break it” .

As a matter of fact, I had decided quite a while ago to get to work here in my town, at the local level. My town is a wonderful town, and I am eager  to help our uptown area continue to be a beacon and shining example. I am eager to help people have a voice; note that I say have a voice, not feel like they have a voice. There are some who prefer to minimize the presence of “new blood” or “new ideas”. There are some who want change for change’s sake.

What do I want? I want to try to help some of my views and ideas get implemented. I want people who have been minimized and undervalued to have their day, and to do everything I can to make my little corner of the world better. I have a passion for this.

I have watched EVERY presidential inauguration since JFK’s when I was really little. I sat on the floor, and my mom and one of her sister’s were on the couch. I was only 6, so I couldn’t really understand the significance of what I saw. But, ah, the words…. the words of the oath matter SO much to me.

As a bit of counterpoint to Mr. Obama’s point, I am involved. I will do my best to help my ideas move forward. Why is it counter point? Well, in the views of many (or even most) people, my life has been relatively insignificant by the world’s standards. But the world’s standards will never be my motivation. Some may have thought they would have no reason to select me based on my ideas and experience.

Yet, on Wednesday, October 16th, I was sworn in as a commissioner on the Redevelopment Commission. It is a non-elected position. I applied, was interviewed and chosen from a small pool of 5 applicants. But on Wednesday, I was sworn in. I stood in Town Council chambers, and took my oath of office. Me. Sworn in. Hand upheld and sworn in. It blew my mind. (I wanted to do a Snoopy happy dance). Here it is!

“I, Kate Kresse, do solemnly swear that I will support the Constitution of the United States, and the Constitution and Laws of the State of Arizona, and the laws of the Town of Gilbert, that I will bear the true faith and allegiance to the same and defend them against all enemies foreign and domestic; and that I will faithfully and impartially discharge the duties of the office of Commissioner for the Redevelopment Commission, according to the best of my ability, so help me God”.

I have to say that I almost wept with joy when I said it….to be given this honor is a hope and dream come to life. To be entrusted with this small task, and valued sufficiently to be given a chance is restorative on more levels than I can go into here. I do not share ANY of this to show off. I share it to encourage you to find a way to help a secret wish come true.

I hope to help light up my little corner of the world. Those of you who have befriended me continue to give me strength. I hope today brings you buckets of joy, and an outlet for your gifts and ideas. Thanks for reading.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in communication, politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I was sworn in! “I shall uphold the Constitution; I shall defend”

  1. auntyuta says:

    I have no clear idea what exactly is the task of a redevelopment commission. However I am sure it is something you would approach with all good intentions and to the best of your ability. I congratulate you very much on being chosen and I wish you success and joy doing this work. Thank you so much for this post, Kate. It is wonderful to hear that you come from a family of involved people. .

    • Kate Kresse says:

      ah the redevelopment commission works with the town council and the uptown merchants and prospective businesses too, to rehab the uptown area and also bring in a mix of new businesses. They coordinate the efforts, and try to address the concerns and goals of the existing businesses too. And thanks, Uta!

      • auntyuta says:

        Thanks for the update, Kate. I too want to wish you a great experience in reinforcing your persistence, steadfastness and grace. Hugs! Uta. 🙂

        • Kate Kresse says:

          hugs right back. We are seeing a lot of coverage here in AZ about your fires. Our climates and fire situations are very similar. I pray that they get them out soon. have a grand day!

          • auntyuta says:

            Hi Kate, at present we are back to much cooler temperatures. This has eased the fire situation a great deal. However they say it might take weeks before all the fires are out because such a huge area is burning, especially in the Blue Mountains west of Sydney. With increased wind some sparks can fly around for long distances. People always have to be on the watch out for new fire outbreaks. What we need is a huge downpour to extinguish all the fires!

            I believe Americans have been shown a map of Australia with huge fire icons all around Australia. Australians straight away noticed how strangely the fires were presented on this map. True there are fires all around Australia, but on this map it appears as though half of Australia is burning which it certainly is not. You see the whole continent of Australia on a small map. Then they put huge, huge fire icons on this small scale map. In relation to this map the fires should have been very tiny dots and the icons should not have been joined the way it looks like on this map. Ah well, this is the media for you. None the less the fires in the Blue Mountains in rugged bushland are huge and still very difficult to keep under control. Thousands of fire fighters and emergency workers with a huge amount of equipment are at work in shifts 24/7.

            Have a great weekend, Kate. Big hug from Uta.

            • Kate Kresse says:

              our az mountain forest fires are kind of the same way. they cover thousands of acres relatively quickly and take so long to put out because of the challenges of remote locations. i am glad they are making a huge amount of headway in putting them out by now.

              • auntyuta says:

                This sounds very much like the conditions we have here in some parts of Australia. Kate. It still seems impossible to extinguish all the fires in very remote areas straight away. A huge problem arises once the flames come too close to houses. More and more houses seem to be built in bushland areas. Of course lots of people love to live close to a lot of trees.
                If you are rich enough you can build in a fire resistant way. Unfortunately not so well of people just build ‘normal’ homes which are not very fire resistant once there is a fire close by.

  2. Pete Bosch says:

    Congratulations, Kate on joining the machine. I have no doubt it is better as a result. I wish you persistence, steadfastness and grace. Not that you do not already have these qualities – but that this experience reinforces, rather than diminishes, them.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Indeed that is my hope too, Pete! Thank you for the kind words, and I hope that I can add to the vision of the commission, help the businesses, and ensure that citizens’ voices are heard, and concerns addressed….I’m hoping!!

  3. You, my dear, will simply LOVE all your opponents into submission! 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      awww thanks Kathy. I surely hope that I can do that. Things are going fine so far. There have been a few different functions/meetings. Next week I have training about “open meetings laws”. So I have had to rearrange my tutoring schedules around the meetings. Hopefully things will settle back down really soon. I have added 3 new students in the last week ~ and today I am adding another. Somehow it will all get done! I hope your project is—- progressing! ❤

  4. Linda says:

    My smile comes from the inside out! Such a beautiful, warm, happy feeling inside; deep inside! Because I know that this lovely, committed woman with a heart of gold – and a determination of steel – will make a difference! I am so very proud of you! But it goes far beyond that! You are someone who will truly make a difference and inspire others. Gilbert will be a much better place with you as Commissioner!! You ROCK, girlfriend! I am SO glad that God saw fit to cross our paths so many years ago!! 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      My dear, dear friend—my bosom friend ~ how I love your heart and spirit. You are in my thoughts and prayers today, as you undergo another chemo treatment. I am pulling for you and I am grateful for your confidence in me, your love, our decades long friendship, and ever so much more. Hugs aplenty–love always, kate

Leave a Reply

