Push on in your race: fear not

St Paul writes in Romans that he ran the race and God will say ‘well done though good and faithful servant’. Philip Doddridge wrote this in a song “Awake my soul! Stretch every nerve, and press with vigor on; A heavenly race demands thy zeal, and an immortal crown”. I have to say that running the race, fighting the good fight, and pressing on are especially heartening during football season. We are football fans in this house….often during a televised game, when a running back is dashing down the field with the defense in hot pursuit, the announcer will excitedly shout ” HE…COULD….GO …. ALL… THE …. WAY…”. The crowd goes crazy when the guy does reach the end zone. His teammates run over to him, they leap into the air and belly bump him. it is very cool and fun. They are happy for him and they know that his success just made all the difference for all of them.

Well—wouldn’t it be also so very cool if that is how the dear Lord is when we are pushing forward with zeal in His ways? And won’t it be cool when we run through those gates of heaven to all of those cheers, high fives, and heavenly belly bumps from Him and the saints??? oh yeah…pushing on with zeal today! fighting the good fight…running that marathon race with all of my and His strength. Amen Alleluia!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Push on in your race: fear not

  1. cobbies69 says:

    As the song goes, ‘Wouldn’t it be luvverly’

  2. Mlissabeth says:

    How inspiring! I can just picture it. Have you ever heard the song “I Can Only Imagine” by Mercy Me? That is the song I thought of, when reading this post.

  3. Caddo says:

    Angels doing belly bumps, hmmmmm. My boys are headed to Las Vegas for PBR World Finals–I’ve got all my snacks and other healthy, easy-prep meals ready for Wednesday night’s opening Rounds–Cowboy UP!!

Leave a Reply

