Genesis 50:19-21 It applies this week

Are you suffering, have bad things happened? Are you afraid? Genesis 50:19-21 might help you.[ “But Joseph replied to them, ‘Have no fear. Can I take the place of God? Even though you meant harm to me, God meant it for good, to achieve his present end, the survival of many people. Therefore, have no fear. I will provide for you and for your children’. By thus speaking kindly to them, he reassured them.]. My blogging sister Katharine  and I were both pondering on this verse today. Isn’t that an amazing coincidence? Here is the post she wrote about it. http://katharinetrauger.wordpress.com/2013/10/08/it-works-no-matter-what/My friend Louise says that coincidence is God’s way of remaining anonymous.

Now, I have been writing lately about forming consensus, discussing things rationally, being respectful, and caring about truth. There are a lot of people suffering, and suffering for various reasons. But you see, God can use suffering and work miracles. He can bring about good. Even though some person, or some company, or some government, or whoever intends to harm you (or is intending to help you even though he/she/they know it could harm you) we need not fear. Yes there can be hardship, suffering, illness, and more. But God will see us through. He promised He would.

Our senses and experiences tell us to fear, especially when life  seems so dismal. Our logic and emotions tell us no good can come out of what is going on. But our faith, ah–that is another thing entirely. Our faith tells us that eternity awaits. Now, it may feel as though we have already been suffering for an eternity. But our suffering will fall away.

We can rest in comfort tonight. You see, as a friend once said to me, “God not forget”. Not only will He not forget; He will work good through it all. Rest in comfort. Know that He loves you. He always has and always will. The government and the insurance companies may have us in the ‘cross hairs’ and things are deteriorating into fighting and more. But you see, in this cynical world there are people who love, there are people who care, there are people who reach out. Be renewed, be reassured. Every day people reach out in faith to a tender and loving God. What’s that? You say it’s hopeless or it’s not enough? Then let’s each do more; not “they”, us!

We shall not be vanquished, nor shall we be defeated. Enough of us will rise above the bickering. We will give and help and reach out. We won’t even wait for the government to do it first. We will give, we will help. Just watch us. Some of us will convince an insurance company to do the right thing; others will convince a pharmaceutical company to reconsider; others still will contribute to a charity that helps people; others will volunteer time, talent, or treasure; others still will receive just the right help at just the right time; I know it. How? I know it because people are sick and tired of feeling worn down, cynical, frightened, and helpless.

So they are just going to start taking care of things in new ways. Congress is frozen. Let them stay stuck. We are going to have to show THEM the way. We don’t have to agree before we act. If you are inspired to try to effect change in a certain way ~ get started. Start locally. Advocate. Believe. We can do this. We can help each other. If DC would rather bicker than solve, so what? It is up to us to take care of business. It always has been up to us, but for a long time we passed the buck and let the government take care of it.

But pray first ~ God will lead each of us in different ways. As we follow, things will get resolved. Don’t be scared. He has our backs. Who will you help this week? How will you do it?

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, Friendship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Genesis 50:19-21 It applies this week

  1. auntyuta says:

    I like this post, Kate. It shows you are indeed the perennial optimist. And your writing helps to uplift people.
    Thanks for posting. Thank you very much. I feel a bit more calm now too. Because what America does somehow effects the rest of the world. I wish you all the best. Uta.

  2. Caddo says:

    God bless you Kate! love, sis Caddo

  3. Thanks so much, Sis! I love that verse and it has gotten me through so much, While we are threatened or even attacked by our own leader, is a good time to remember that although he means it for harm, God intends good to come from it. It is a good time to wait upon the Lord, and the only way to survive sane.
    So we wait.

  4. Pingback: It works, no matter what. | Home's Cool!

  5. Hi Kate, how I found my way here is perhaps as Louise said, I’m thankful I did. I enjoyed your message it reminded me once again that we don’t walk alone, God does not afflict us or cause us to suffer but as you shared He is always with us, the Scripture below He gave to me in my Storm and I’m comforted as I remember He is near.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    I have written many letters Kate to our Government also Christian and Non Christian Organizations, just one small voice, will it make a difference, seeds are planted, I pray for growth and like you for more workers and I give thanks for those who do as we do.

    Sorry I lost contact with you Kate, I have with a others too, because of having Blog and Computer problems, I have lost a lot of e-mails, Posts and responses, still trying to catch up.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Welcome, Anne—I had lost your info too. I love the Scriptures you quoted. As a matter of fact, Jeremiah 29:11 is one of my ALL TIME favorites. Keep writing, keep trying. All we can do is be a voice. A voice ardently trying to effect change. I’m so very glad you stopped by. God bless you both ~ kate

Leave a Reply

