Cast your bread upon the waters

Casting your bread upon the waters. What does that make you think of? If you are in a literal mood, perhaps it makes you think of feeding the ducks with day old bread. Gosh, when you do that, the ducks come in droves, don’t they?

Winston Churchill said ” We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give”.

Don’t you love how Churchill can turn a phrase? I sure do. To make a life brings to mind building, molding, becoming, being. It makes me think of reaching out. It makes me think of being the clay on the Potter’s wheel, being molded by His hands. At the same time it makes me think of my own hands molding the clay God put in my hands.

Each moment of each day we have countless ways to give. To have a giving heart means more than financial generosity and more than giving our time to various causes, although it surely encompasses those things most definitely. To me it also means to make each day a prayer and each moment a way of being mindful.

I believe we must be mindful of those around us who need us. We also should really be mindful of those who do not think anyone needs them. We may not even be aware of who they are in our lives that feel that way. We may not even know the person(s) who feel that way ~ they may be strangers to us. But if we keep them in our prayers, and pray that they know that they matter; that they know that their absence would leave a void; that they are special, cherished, and treasured ~ perhaps their hearts will be warmed.

If we always give, and keep our hearts open and warm, perhaps our hearts, prayers, and minds will become unbreakable chains of love. We do indeed make a life by what we give. Not only do we do that ~ but through that giving, we bring God’s love to the world in immeasurable ways. Kipling said to give and not count the cost. He was so right about that. The world always needs more giving and more love. Don’t worry ~ we are up to the challenge. Cast that bread upon the waters of life!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, Positive Thinking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cast your bread upon the waters

  1. Churchill has launched many a boat! 🙂 And I think he was mindful of those in need.

  2. Caddo says:

    “We should really be mindful of those who do not think anyone needs them”–this is a HUGE Truth, Kate–thank you for putting it in words here. I have so wanted to be “of use” to God–and that’s why feeding my sweet neighbor was a greater blessing to me, than to him, probably. It gave my weeks purpose–so I’ve prayed that God will send me “another Tyler” who’ll be happy to eat my cooking/baking! God bless you BIG today, Kate–love, sis Caddo. Hey, come on over to my party on Thursday!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I think you hit the nail on the head. We all need purpose to help shape our days and give them direction. I know there are others for you to serve, right around the bend. Think of the myriad ways God worked through your beautiful, selfless ministrations to your sweet Tyler. God bless you super big!!

Leave a Reply

