A week bookended by cousins and one of my brothers

Today is my brother Mike’s birthday. To know him is to love him. He is one of those genuine guys that everyone loves. Why is that? He is loving, respectful and believes that there is no such thing as a stranger; only friends that you have yet to meet. He is the one who gave me the job of sister. He is fun, kind, joyous, giving, and oh so much more. He is insightful, deep, and kind. I am blessed to be his sister.

In addition to Mike’s birthday, this week has held other blessings. It has been a week of wonderful gifts in my life. You see, the week began with my amazing cousin Maggie publishing a book of her poetry. She always has such beautiful things to say ~ she shares her insights on almost a daily basis. One of her core beliefs is to rejoice in the beauty that is all around us. She and I have always been writers ~ it runs in the family, I guess you could say. She knows that one can always find the good in every situation, and that life is what you make it. If you would like a truly lovely book of poetry, here is that information.

9781627729475.jpg

http://www.publishamerica.net/product53427.html [at her publisher]

or you can get it on Amazon (what can’t you get on Amazon, right?)

Ok ~Then today, my stupendous cousin Dan ~ I call him Danny boy ~ who is in love with life, and full of optimism, shared a photo.

1236868_589518911096299_1975447816_nDannyForest

Can’t you almost smell the leaves, and hear them crunch under your feet? I want to leap right into the photo and follow the road. When I sent Danny (my wordsmith cousin)  a message and asked him where this picture was taken, this was his response.

” ‘Tiz the wooded asphalt pathway to simplicity as autumn draws near in just a few short hours when the sun lays down her golden mane on this soon to shed forest of green trees and grain…!!! Thank you for asking my most sweet cousin Kate — ”

Sigh…Isn’t that a wonderful way to put it? Don’t you love that? The wooded asphalt pathway to simplicity…. I love that whole concept….walking down a turn in the glen—straight to a moment of simplicity. Shedding the complexity and burdens of life, or worries, or troubles, and running straight to the joyful simplicity of life.

Well played, Danny. My friends, do you have a pathway to simplicity in your life? I mean both literally and figuratively. Life doesn’t have to stay complicated, you know. Simplicity is within our hearts. The Seasons of the Heart lead us straight to the wooded asphalt pathway to simplicity.

Which leads me to my brother once again. His commitment to love, excellence, hard work, fitness, and caring for others is his pathway to simplicity.

“Tis a gift to be simple, tis a gift to be free…”

May your day be simply beautiful. I wish you love.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, Family Life and Issues, Friendship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A week bookended by cousins and one of my brothers

  1. You are absolutely surrounded–no wonder you turned out so wonderfilled! Happy Birthday, Mike!

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    What a wonderful family you have Kate!

  3. theladypeach says:

    This looks like a really good book. I wish I had time to read more.

Leave a Reply

