Remembering some miracles: or should I pout?

andrew Wyeth: Curtains Blowing

andrew Wyeth: Curtains Blowing

At times it seems that words like love and miracles are so over-used these days that they have become trivialized. I agree. Yet marvelous things (both big and small) occur in my life. I can see God’s fingerprint in these marvelous things, and so I tend to call them miracles.

One of my favorite big miracle stories involves my son. My husband and I were hoping to adopt. As you may or may not know, the waiting list is lengthy. We were living out east at the time. An old college friend of mine was in town for a visit and she called me one day to see if we could meet downtown, visit some museums and have lunch. How wonderful! Well, in our meanderings we decided to stop into the Cathedral and say a prayer. I was feeling quite downhearted, as I began to fear that I never would get the chance to be adopt a child. So, almost verbatim, this was my prayer after I lit my candle: “Dearest Lord, send me a baby and do it right now!”  This was early in the afternoon. My friend and I continued our day together, and then I headed home.

That very evening I received a phone call about a young lady who was considering placing her baby for adoption! I remarked to my husband after I got off the phone, “Gosh if I’d know I had His full attention I would have given Him my whole list ;-)”. But that is the Irish side of me; I’m always trying to bring in a little humor.

We both worked with an adoption agency, we were approved, she chose us, and a few months later we had our son. Now wouldn’t you classify that as a miracle? Oh—just luck or coincidence you say? How about this. Our caseworker at the agency in NJ had a daughter my age. It turned out that they had lived in Chicago— a few houses away from a good friend of mine. I did not know her, though. Why? A few months after my family moved from MN to Chicago, my caseworker and family moved from Chicago to MN. Otherwise we would have been fast friends, as we had the same extra-curricular interests and very similar personalities.

There are those who say that coincidence is God’s way of remaining anonymous. But I don’t think He was anonymous in this one. I am so very grateful each day. Our son delights our hearts and souls each day. He began as a little miracle, and now he is a big miracle.

Little miracles, on the other hand, surround us each day. They include: the bagger at the grocery store saying something kind; the mailman making sure your package doesn’t get wet; the barrista remembering what you usually order and asking how your family is doing because he has met them; Sears offering to replace your washing machine (for free) that is under warranty that broke down, and the service people can’t get to you for weeks, and it is almost Christmas. Yep all of these things have actually happened to me. In the midst of lots of difficulties in my life (that I didn’t mention) these things occur—-they sustain me.

God sends little life lines to us when our strength wanes. Good is all around us…..what helps you find it, see it and take it in? How about being stuck in traffic on the way home. I mean you are not moving….for oh 20 minutes. Now you can fume and swear….or you can see how many of your fellow travelers you can smile at to lighten their stress….or you can actually notice the breeze, or the sunset….

Notice life around you….even in your sorrow…there is something beautiful and lovely to see. “Rejoice in the Lord always”!  Don’t you just LOVE the word ALWAYS?? I mean to rejoice always means all the time. Do you ever feel like stomping your foot like a little toddler, and folding your arms and saying with a pout on your face—” I won’t rejoice at this….hmmmph….Well, guess what? If you allow yourself to do that, the mood might pass—it works for me!!

moms new wordpress photos 002

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, Heartwarming or humorous stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Remembering some miracles: or should I pout?

  1. Anne Capovani says:

    Kate, well I guess today was just one of those days that I got a chance to read and respond to your blog. Well, I say…I celebrate and rejoice you!! Miracles and blessings abound!! The dear Lord sent you to me and your dear sweet son!! I love you so much!! Love always, Anne

  2. Little to big miracle Josh is and it was so good to see all of you!!

  3. cobbies69 says:

    I think many things in ones life could be put down to coincidences but I happen to believe in faith and fate,, and things happen for a reason,, it is how we interpret them or wish to interpret them. Miracles are certainly one way, and certainly can be so.. and in your case I would agree, a miracle it is.

  4. Loved this. Loved the Wyeth painting! Loved the humor! Love you. ❤ K

Leave a Reply

