Having a tough day?

Are you having a tough day or week? Do you feel worn out or care-worn? Ah, put your feet up now, and take a deep breath. Yes, I know that doesn’t fix anything. The difficulties and challenges in your life will still be there waiting. But if you take a little time to listen to the still voice of love, the burdens grow lighter. If you take a breather, you will last longer. That is why sprinters don’t generally run marathons.

In life, we have to pace ourselves. Some days we have the oomph to go full tilt all day long. When we do it feels really good to have accomplished so much. But other days, we just don’t have it in us. It is a bit like those days when you hit every red light in town when you are trying to get some place. You can grump, complain, and feel put upon. On the other hand, you can use the red light time to breathe, pray, reflect. It is possible, you know, that because you hit all those red lights, a potential accident did not happen. It is possible that you slowed down enough mentally, that the solution to a problem became apparent.

Keep in mind, though, that today I am feeling a bit frustrated that I don’t have the frenetic zip that I normally have. When I don’t accomplish a lot of things, I tend to fall into the trap of saying that I just did not measure up. But measure up to what standard? Are we really only of value if we accomplish x number of things in a day? Of course not. So today I am going to keep in mind that some days things happen (or do not happen) in their own time. It will be okay.

Set your worries and “things to do” aside. Just be. Just breathe. Feel the waves of the ocean (even though you are nowhere near the ocean) wash over you with reassuring joy. Know that the sun will gently set over the horizon this evening. It will not slam down. The doors of love will not slam in your face. Your tasks will eventually get done. You are good.

This quote was in a greeting card I received from a friend. “This itty bitty critter is a marmoset. Think of him when you get discouraged, and remember….”

"Marmoset there'd be days like this"

“Marmoset there’d be days like this”

Marmoset there’d be days like this.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, Friendship, Positive Thinking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Having a tough day?

  1. Funny girl!

    Yes, I’m tired and nervous about my upcoming speaking engagement. They haven’t yet told me how many times they want me to speak! 😯

    Yet, that bit you shared about love is going to make the difference, here, I know it.

    A local Christian teacher of sciences has inspired her students to consider that evolution may be the myth and Creation the reality by saying, “But…where does love evolve from? How can love exist without a loving Creator?” They cannot answer that one. ❤

  2. That is just TOO Cute, Kate! I have to say that I’m getting better at accomplishing less in a day, and being okay with it–being able to go slow, take it easy, not make myself quite as crazy as I used to. I mean seriously, is the world going to come to a crashing stop if I don’t get my To-Do list To-Done? I don’t think so. God bless you BIG–love, sis Caddo

  3. dorannrule says:

    Kate, this is such a lovely post because you seem to be talking just to me! I have had some taxing days lately and a bit more to come, but I will heed your words of encouragement to just slow down and enjoy the ocean waves (even though I am not near the ocean).

Leave a Reply

