Have you ever wanted time to stand completely still?

image

Have you ever been with people for either a special or ordinary event, and you wished that time could stand completely still? This weekend was one of those weekends. Last night I attended the 45th year reunion for my grade school class (8th grade). I wrote about the upcoming event yesterday. Last night was wondrous. You know, the years just melted away. We exchanged stories, shared our joys and sorrows, hopes and dreams, triumphs and disappointments. We laughed a lot. We watched the DVD of photos and music created by one of our wondrous classmates (Dave). He has such talent and did a wonderful job. The whole reunion committee put together a night that gave us all a chance to reconnect.

Only around half of us could make it to the evening. I am so very glad I went. You see, time marches on for all of us. There may not be more chances to see each other. I have to say that I wanted to sit for days and talk individually with every single one of my classmates. It was magical getting to see them again.

Perhaps moments like that are so precious to me is because I moved so many times. When you do that, the ones you have to leave take on gigantically magical proportions in your heart. At least that is the case with me. I have to say, last night’s reunion did not disappoint. My classmates are every bit as wonderful as I remembered. I do not look at them through rose colored glasses. Oh no, I look at them with my heart.

I have searched for many of them for decades. One of my classmates said that she felt as though she was finding pieces that she had lost from her soul.

I agree. You see, with the friends we make in life, and the times we have together, we create songs and tapestries. When we reassemble the pieces, the songs become an opus. Do you remember the closing scene in Mr. Holland’s Opus? As we open our hearts in life, and invest in each other’s lives, and risk the vulnerability of openness, we become each others’ opus. When we leave each other, we carry our songs elsewhere.

But oh my, when we have the chance to reassemble, the song is even more glorious than it was in the beginning. How can that be? I will tell you how I see it. We go out, and create new tapestries and symphonies. We learn, over and over again, how precious love is. We realize that it is essential to our being to reach out, to embrace each other, and to treasure the uniqueness in those we love.

Yes, it had been 45 years since I had seen my classmates. Many of them have remained in MN and are in touch on a more regular basis. But even among them, many years had gone by since they had seen each other. It was extraordinary to me that that spark I remembered burst into such flames of love again last night.

We said to each other, I  remember you. I love you. You look amazing. You were fabulous back then, you are amazing now, and tell me about your life now. …

I wanted time to stand still. I truly did. I had looked forward to a regrouping for decades. The evening swept over us in waves of love. We jabbered until nearly midnight. Then it was time to go. Once again I left pieces of my heart behind. It makes me want to weep; and yet there is something that I know with total confidence. Those pieces of my heart are in good hands; very good hands. I am so glad to have pieces of their hearts in my hands as well.

I couldn’t make time stand still. But I had the time of my life.

https://believeanyway.wordpress.com/2013/08/24/something-from-my-bucket-list-dreams-do-come-true/

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Have you ever wanted time to stand completely still?

  1. Went to my 40th and felt that way. Once dear couple who always dated and always knew they would marry, and did marry and stay married, were there at great expense to the husband, one of my old classmates, who was near the end with cancer. They were glad and sad to be there and we were overjoyed and overcome with grief to see them and learn of their pain. Just could not get enough of his face–will never see it again. And I learned that an old flame had died recently. Made me cry, although I am totally and happily married to the man of my dreams. Ya’ know? Anyway, the night was far too short and will never happen again. A sort of time warp that was glorious.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Time warp ~ you are right. that is what it is. it is just so glorious when those chances come along in our lives. I passed up a chance to attend some other reunions for other groups in the past few years. Circumstances just would not allow it. I am SO glad that I could do this one! How good it was that you could attend your 40th, and that that couple could come. I was sorry to hear at my reunion that a number of our classmates have already died. Some of them while they were in their 30s. And those nights are so short!!!

  2. auntyuta says:

    For me it was interesting to meet half a dozen girls from my class after not having seen them for about thirty years. This meeting took place in 1980. I have no idea what happened to them since then. Regrettably contact with a lot of people has been lost at this time of my life. After all I am nearly 80! However any reunion that takes place after a long time of separation is always something special. I always enjoyed very much meeting old friends again. And this includes a number of family members too who live in far away countries.
    It’s great, Kate, that you were able to have such a good time at the reunion! 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      How lovely that you got the chance to do that. I, too, have lost contact with far too many people over the years. It is so good when we DO have the chance to reconnect, catch up, find out about each other’s lives. I truly loved it. It is a gift. a true gift.

  3. Lucid Gypsy says:

    So glad you had such a brilliant time and hope you will be able to keep in touch now. I am very lucky because two of my closest friends have been since we met aged eleven in high school!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      brilliant time, indeed. There is something so etra special about connecting with childhood friends as an adult. Coming full circle….how lovely that some of your closest friends have been friends since high school. I love the continuity of that.

  4. Pingback: Two extraordinary friends | Believe Anyway

  5. Marty L. says:

    Isn’t it amazing how with some friends, you can go decades without seeing them, and yet it’s like yesterday when you get together. It was a really special time we spent together as classmates, even though we may not have been aware of it then, and again at the reunion. Thanks for putting it into words Kate.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      It was amazing and heartwarming. I loved fiinding out what paths each classmate has taken and hearing about their lives. It was wonderful. It made me want to STAY connected!

Leave a Reply

