God is attempting to teach me flexibility

juggle -

Normally when I set up my work schedule, which means which student I tutor when, the schedule remains fairly predictable. So far this year, that has not been the case. As a matter of fact, over the course of the last week, each of my students has changed their days, times, and parameters anywhere from 2 to 5 times. Last week, in a single day I revamped my entire schedule 4 times. What does that mean? That means I have to recontact each student to try to determine who can swap times. Sometimes this is an interconnected and sequential process.

At first I was irritated. But as the days have gone on, it has become comical. By now I realize that there is an underlying message for me. God is extending His hand during the chaos and letting me know that He will see me through. I cannot predict the future. I can only prepare the best I can, and walk with Him through it all. Although I like things to be fixed and predictable, He knows that I am ready for a little bit of chaos. Things may eventually settle back down into a more predictable routine. Or maybe they won’t. Do you prefer that your routine, your work, your chores, or whatever, be in a predictable pattern? That is what has been my safety zone. But now my competency muscles need to grow. It is time.

Perhaps I needed to “spice it up” a bit, eh? Perhaps that is why I have had the urge to organize and de-clutter. I am continuing that process and am making progress. Many of my students are upperclassmen this year. Some will be preparing for college and the college application process. I will be teaching them how to roll with the punches, and how to handle things being less routine and predictable. How surprised can I be that I will once again be demonstrating that skill to them, live and in person?

Indeed. God foresees their (and my) every need. I rejoice amid the zaniness, and am learning to be relieved that life is far less routine and repetitive than I thought I needed. Are you feeling at loose ends and out of your normal routine? Is God working through you to climb new mountains? Are you “on deck” to lead in new ways? I am guessing that you are! Where and how do you think you will model steadfastness? Flexibility? More?

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, Family Life and Issues and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to God is attempting to teach me flexibility

  1. I love routine, truly I do–but now and again God surprises me, and it turns out to be a huge blessing. And some days I actually give myself permission to eschew the scheduled tasks–and do “whatever”–it’s a nice break! God bless you and your students, who are so fortunate to have you!

Leave a Reply

