Time is the coin of your life

Time is the coin of your life.  It is the only coin you have, and only you can determine how it will be spent.  Be careful lest you let other people spend it for you.” 

~Carl Sandburg~

As my school year begins anew, this is perhaps one of the toughest lessons for me to integrate into my life. Home management vs self-care vs student care. Those are the tightropes I walk. I rapidly lose the ability to multi-task when I feel over-scheduled. But I have discovered something recently. You see, I headed out of town to help my mom. Things had gotten bogged down and disorganized in her home, and I went to spend time with her and help her. I knew my time there was going to be relatively brief. So I set up as many systems as I could so that she could continue to weed her way through things, and stay caught up in other areas.

I could see that there are areas in my own life that must be addressed. So I have been working on that since my return. I have set up some new systems, and am making my way through some of my own piles and stacks. It will feel good when all of that is done. In the mean time I am celebrating the tiny steps that I do take. Those tiny steps make the stacks created by procrastination seem less insurmountable.

That in turn, helps me spend the coin of my life wisely. I know this post is rather pedestrian. But you see, what I write today helps me remain accountable to myself. That helps me “stick to my tasks”. My guess is that if I keep that determination going, I will ultimately have more free time ~ which is what I truly hope to gain! I will keep you posted. What do you do to keep yourself motivated?

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, time management and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time is the coin of your life

  1. Lucid Gypsy says:

    I’m highly motivated but get myself involved in too many things, hence I do nothing really well!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      oh boy do i ever know that feeling!!! I get so distracted, too, some days. some days i start a lot of different things, but don’t complete any of them. then there are other days when i realize how much there is to do or complete, and i completely freeze. i am hoping today will be a good day, as i have many things i really should finish!!

Leave a Reply

