What Matters Most is How You see Yourself

I thought this little picture was so cute. the little kitten envisions himself as a masterful lion. As a result, his timidity potentially transforms into courage. This is something that I regularly communicate to my students. I explain that each day they can practice being the kind of lady or man that they will become. Bit by bit and day by day we do that. We become our own visions of ourselves. All of this is true. But when I thought about that some more today, I realized something. Dob’t you love when that happens?

It does matter how you see yourself. But that is only part of it. You see, our vision is limited. For instance, I may see myself as one who is a believer in big causes, a leader, or hopefully one who inspires others and helps them to become great. I may think that I am leading. But others may see me as mean or bossy. It is a matter of HOW we communicate—our style, if you will. Here is another example: let’s say you are part of a group==PTA, a women’s group, a civic organization. You know yourself, and realize that you prefer (and are better at) being one of the people on a committee, but not the head of the committee. Let’s further say that your communication style is to hold back a bit, and listen to what others have to say, so that you can figure out what the rest of the group is thinking. Some might interpret that holding back on your part as aloofness, conceit, or unfriendliness.

So as we “see ourselves” I realized today that we need to also keep in mind that e may be making it difficult for others to see as as we see ourselves! Back in the 70s we called that “wearing masks”. The challenge is to drop the mask and share ourselves. That, of course, requires a “safe environment” for going mask-less!

Besides all of that, though there is another message. You see, God sees me through perfect eyes , knows my gifts and shortcomings better than anyone, and loves me anyway. If we could see ourselves the way HE sees us–well that would then make it easier to love ourselves and others.

As I pray today, and walk with Him, I will ask Him to help me see myself through His loving eyes. I rejoice in His love today~and thank Him for His constant presence. Have a blessed day.

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Matters Most is How You see Yourself

  1. …as innocent as doves while at the same time being as wise as serpents… ?

Leave a Reply

