Never confuse a single defeat with a final defeat

I don’t know about you, but there are days when I get discouraged or overwhelmed. You see, I set out with high hopes each day. I assume nothing will go wrong, and no obstacles or impediments will get in my way. Isn’t that unrealistic of me? Of course it is. Life doesn’t work that way, does it? Yet it startles me when my efforts fall short, or someone is in a bad mood, which in turn affects me. This is especially true of course when the problem is caused by me.

974919_3208501589381_836165150_n

The other day I posted a recipe for coconut milk yogurt. It wasn’t my recipe, and I made that clear. I gave the link for the recipe and in addition pasted the entire article onto my blog, giving the author full credit–her name and information were included in what I pasted, and I never took credit for her work.

Unfortunately, I didn’t ask the author’s permission. I assumed it wasn’t necessary since it was obvious to one and all that it was her work, and not mine. She complained to WordPress about it, and WordPress sent me a warning to take it down, and that if I violated the rules again they would shut me down. Yikes. More than a little bit of a screw-up on my part.

I immediately took down the post, and sent a message to the author, apologizing for my behavior. I was pretty scared by that warning, and I am attempting to go back through past posts and determine if I have done that in the past.

Now I am not saying that this setback is a single defeat nor a final defeat for me.  I am saying that it is easy in our lives to get discouraged. It is easy for our hearts to feel swamped, drowned, discouraged. It is easy to feel hopeless. The sands shift beneath us, and we lose our footing and our vigor. Big things happen in this world that at times make us frightened, discouraged, or even bitter.

But you see, we must remember that the things that happen are single defeats. Yes, I know, at times these are yet another link in a seemingly endless chain of single defeats. But they are not the final defeat. How do I know? Well, as long as I have breath in me, I know that there is a glimmer of hope. How can I say that? I know it in the core of my being because there continues to be people who will insist on standing in the fray, and doing the right thing.

There are days that kick the stuffing out of us….but then, there are people who come along and restore us. In this world, we must go that extra mile. We must try to restore and build each other up, each and every day. We must treat others with the care we wished everyone gave us. We must bind up each others’ wounds.

This world will get better if enough of us realize that we who love will not be defeated. In the short run perhaps we will be defeated at times. That is to be expected, because no one gets their way all the time. But if we each attend to one another, things will gradually improve.

Perhaps you are feeling battle weary and that you just cannot continue to stand in the fray. Perhaps you feel defeated and care worn. Put your feet up and rest. Have a cup of coffee. Go to your happy place in your mind. Know this: there are good-hearted people who have your back. I know; some days that doesn’t even begin to cover it. There are days when the hurt, sorrow, or even anger runs to your core. I want you to know one thing: you are in my prayers and thoughts. More battles lie ahead; rest and restore yourself. May you be infused with a glimmer of hope that grows and glows.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in ethics, faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Never confuse a single defeat with a final defeat

  1. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Oh dear, I think the important thing is that you didn’t mean to offend. Put it behind you, you’re a lovely lady who wouldn’t want to upset anyone.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      You are right about that! I am going to try to communicate with WordPress next week and find out how much potential trouble i am in with them. For example, if i make another mistake will they just shut me down? I an going to have to copy all my content pretty soon here, in case that happens…..It hasn’t sent me into a tailspin. but it has made me aware once again, that all actions are impactful!!!

  2. cobbies69 says:

    I feel sad for the person reporting you,, but I did not realise that recipes are owned by anyone specific,,[i dont think they are] People like this are in my eyes, not very happy bunnies within their skins….and battle weary will wear away,, and live to fight again,, a little rest and back up… your posts are too good to lose. 😉 if you follow them, unfollow ??? [smiling]

    • Kate Kresse says:

      it’s funny. i saw the link for the recipe on Facebook….so there you go. The owner of the recipe and site contacted me and said i could post the link and the ingredients. I think she makes her living with her site—which is a recipe site. so i can understand her concern. wish she had contacted me directly—because now i am apparently on borrowed time with WordPress. I plan to contact them next week and find out just how much trouble i am in!! I am a rule-follower from the get go!! but they have no way of knowing that, in their defense.

  3. That was an unfortunate incident but what inspires me is how you managed to overcome it despite the shock and worry and then shared it with us so that we may all learn from it. Thanks, Kate. (recipes….who knew?)

  4. Oh brother, Sis! My immediate thought is, does this person not have more earthshaking issues to get in a flap about?? Good grief, already–and I’m with the rest of the pack, “Recipes”???? I know there are recipe sites, and the recipes are copyrighted, but if you include all the attribution/links, whatever–is that not sufficient? Aaarrgghh. Back to the topic: good reminder that the current defeat needn’t be the final one. There are days, though, when I can almost visually see things expand till they are as huge as the Goodyear blimp–in fact, that’s kinda where I am. So it figures God would lead me back to “Believe Anyway”–where my sis is always waiting with a good word. God bless you BIG–love, you know who

    • Kate Kresse says:

      there are days when it expands, you are right. the email from WordPress scared me enough that i de-published a bunch of stuff on my other site that had basically been copy and paste stuff….i will need to contact the original sites and ask if i can do that, or just part of it or whatever!! and the site the recipe was on was a recipe site—i think she makes money on her blog—but i assumed that my copy and paste since it included her site link and name etc would bring her more business. i heard from her after i sent the apology email and she said i could copy the ingredients and the link, but not the photos and instructions. but i am afraid if i do that much even, it could re-awaken the giants who sent me the cease and desist. so i don’t think i will even do that. too unsure. perhaps i will create a post that says if you want a recipe for coconut milk yogurt use this link…….

      • That’s the best idea, Kate–people seem to love links (not me, but other people)!! You’ve been on my mind again–hope things are well. I’d call you, but I’ve been struggling in the doldrums–waiting till I can be “fun” again before I dial your number! Much love, Caddo

        • Kate Kresse says:

          me too!! doldrum city!! PLUS i leave town on the 27th to visit my mom and wont be back til the 4th….hate being away that long, especially since i am leaving my guys behind. but after the $$$ of the wedding trip we cant afford to all go, and my hubby has no more vacation time—and his company just got bought….NOT the time to be away!!

  5. auntyuta says:

    Thanks for the warning, Kate. I am sometimes not quite sure what I am allowed to copy. For instance if it is a text from Google. ? ? ?

    Once or twice I copied a comment someone made on one of my blogs. Then I pasted it onto another blog of mine. Would I have to have had asked permission to do this? It’s very confusing to me.

    About the publishing of photos I have taken I am a bit confused too. If I take a picture of a crowd of people I cannot possibly ask everyone for their permission to publish the photo, can I?

    In the media one can see all the time pictures of people in a crowd. How come they have permission to publish such pictures? I try to avoid publishing such photos. But I wonder whether I would be allowed to do so.? ? ?

    • Kate Kresse says:

      obviously it is confusing to me too! with photos i have no idea.. sometimes i go to sites that say they are royalty-free photos. other times i just put various photos i have found in a search. my guess is that i’m not supposed to do that without someone’s permission—but it isn’t always obvious whom to ask! as far as photos i have taken of people places or things i have never asked permission, and in a crowd shot i don’t see how you could even begin!!! if someone asks me to take something down, i do it. what scared me was the note from WordPress that said if they get more complaints they take my site away. i wish the person had just contacted me directly. would have of course removed the post either way. shook me up that i could lose the site!! yikes!!! so now i will only share with advance permission—for articles and recipes etc….photos—no idea what i am going to do?

  6. Thanks for the inspiration. Kate. Troubles lurk everywhere but then so does victory. I am sorry for the battle you went through but I am really glad it did not defeat you.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      thanks joseph. it did shake me up—much more because of the ominous tone of the email from wordpress. it REALLY spooked me. I REALLY don’t want to lose my blog…..

  7. dogear6 says:

    Kate – I’m sorry you had problems with that post. You’re right that it was very clear you were not the author of it.

    Sharon Astyk is a well known author and blogger in the world of homesteading and had something similar happen several years ago. She didn’t even do a cut and paste – just made reference to another blog and the blogger was P.O.’d to no end.

    So it’s not just you. Let us know what WordPress says if you can ever get hold of them.

    Nancy

Leave a Reply

