Where is your Rubicon?

I was watching the movie1776. In it,  John Adams sings:
They want to me to quit; they say

John, give up the fight…..” 

later in the same song he sings, with great gusto:

For I have crossed the Rubicon
Let the bridge be burned behind me
Come what may, come what may; Commitment!”

 

Of course, I choose to draw parallels to far bigger things than the movie, or the creation of the Declaration of Independence. There are moments and times in my life that are watershed moments. By that I mean where something is said or done, or just plain happens—and it changes everything. It draws a new level of commitment or dedication from my gut. After that moment in time, a new well of commitment is opened. There is no going back. Those times are distinct and recognizable. It is a total awareness that because of some specific thing, you really are crossing a river, and burning the bridge behnd you…..or at least you have no intention of ever being in that position or situation again. I don’t just mean something has angered you. I mean that you suddenly realize a new path is called for.

Have you had those moments? I truly have. I have had them in many areas of my life. Sometimes it is in the political arena; sometimes in worklife; sometimes in personal relationships…..they are clarion call moments. I wondered as I watched John Adams sing his song. Those moments have added so very much to my life. Perhaps it is because I grew up in the 60s and early 70s. Clarion calls were addictive for me. Watershed moments; mountain top moments. It is in those moments that my path is unmistakably clear. It is in those moments that I have NO vacillation. I do no second guess my plan of action. I have renewed purpose.

God’s voice is, in a sense, audible at those times. I have had many Rubicon’s and bridges. I am grateful for the Rubicons in my life…..and the Clarion Calls in my life have helped to make me who I am. A woman in love with the journey— . At those times I say with gentle and genuine clarity, if you understand  what I am saying, you too have crossed your Rubicons with commitment. Here’s to the next leg of the journey.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, Positive Thinking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where is your Rubicon?

  1. What struck me here, Kate, is the phrase “well of commitment”. Up to this point, I think I’d heard the word commitment as something hard (in substance=concrete), as well as probably difficult to fulfill; but today I’m getting a revelation–that a well is full of water, which moves, flows (outside of a well, I mean). We’re filled with living water, Jesus; we flow, are led by the Holy Spirit–therefore, commitments sound more do-able to me now; no longer a heavy concrete block I have to lift, push. Hmmm. God bless you BIG–love, Cj

Leave a Reply

